[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40
Author Message
TrK Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40
I have several T21P E2 and T40P phones with latest firmware 82.0.20, Asterisk 14 (FreePBX 14 actually, installed with Asterisk 13, upgraded to Asterisk 14 with asterisk-version-switch) and lot of W56 handset (no Opus support yet). I use Asterisk PJSIP driver for my Yealink phones.
Opus was enabled everywhere and also set as primary codec. Asterisk console show calls established using opus (with opus->slin and slin->opus conversion actually).
In phones Opus enabled with autoprovision:
Code:
account.1.codec.opus.enable = 1
account.1.codec.opus.priority = 0
account.1.codec.opus.rtpmap = 107

But voice sound as ... corrupted? Some scratches and crackles, you know.
First I blamed bad network connection, but it was not true - even phones in same LAN have this issue.
I tried to update Opus - download latest codec from Digium and install it to Asterisk. No luck, voice still bad.
I tried to disable Opus in PBX and replace it with G722 - sound become much better!

Should i stay with G722 for now or die trying try to solve this issue somehow?
12-08-2017 10:56 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 338
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
RE: Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40
(12-08-2017 10:56 AM)TrK Wrote:  Asterisk console show calls established using opus (with opus->slin and slin->opus conversion actually).

Well there's your first problem. If you are calling two devices with OPUS enabled, Asterisk should be passing the codec through directly and not doing any type of conversion.

The fact that it is doing Opus - slin then slin -> Opus indicates that Asterisk is trying to process audio on the call for some reason. Now if you have installed everything properly and system is all running fine then you should not have any issues doing that, but I would suggest doing some digging on your PBX side to find out why the call is not simply being passed through as that may be the bigger point of the issue. (i.e. if you have call recording enabled on the PBX, then this will happen and maybe your PBX is not powerful enough to do both the recording to disk and the 2 x OPUS translation? That's just one possibility of many...)
12-08-2017 11:05 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
TrK Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40
(12-08-2017 11:05 PM)jolouis Wrote:  
(12-08-2017 10:56 AM)TrK Wrote:  Asterisk console show calls established using opus (with opus->slin and slin->opus conversion actually).
Well there's your first problem. If you are calling two devices with OPUS enabled, Asterisk should be passing the codec through directly and not doing any type of conversion.
You right, this is not good.
I was able to configure FreePBX to NOT do any converting with opus2opus calls, but this problem still hit me - sometimes call quality drops when using only opus and most calls have bad quality when opus converted to something other codec (even G722).
Now i use G722 only and feel good with this codec.
12-26-2017 11:20 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
syadnom Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40
asterisk's opus sucks. badly. I believe they've got complexity turned WAY down and are using some old code. I never got satisfactory opus out of asterisk transcoding. Freeswitch does it great, as does 3CX.
12-03-2018 01:09 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Bad sound with Opus TrK 0 1,157 12-08-2017 10:53 AM
Last Post: TrK
  Opus Ultra Wideband and Fullband avayax 8 8,858 10-19-2017 06:33 PM
Last Post: Bogen
  Possible to show codec? givemeaccess 3 3,310 06-07-2017 11:24 AM
Last Post: Paul_Yealink
  Opus codec on T23G avayax 1 3,461 10-11-2016 02:55 PM
Last Post: Kevin_Yealink
  BT40 with Voyager Legend CS no sound blackc2004 3 4,890 07-11-2016 03:31 PM
Last Post: kanaille11
  Opus Codec Vanburen 8 9,453 06-14-2016 06:32 AM
Last Post: syadnom
  sound quality of t41 and t48 msafreeport 3 4,158 12-28-2015 12:20 PM
Last Post: Josephbd
  codec g729.. Gilb 0 1,873 07-25-2015 03:32 PM
Last Post: Gilb
  T42G & T46G Echo and Hollow sound tlsallada 6 17,326 06-22-2015 04:23 PM
Last Post: smb
  T20 click sound when picking up handset Singalong 1 3,742 05-29-2015 06:08 PM
Last Post: Elaine_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication