[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yealink connection via laptop?
Author Message
afsfwmw90rfj Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Yealink connection via laptop?
Is it possible to use a Yealink phone by plugging the phone into a laptop?

I use a mobile hotspot to get online. I do not have a router.

Thanks
06-23-2017 02:51 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,359
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 39
Post: #2
RE: Yealink connection via laptop?
(06-23-2017 02:51 PM)afsfwmw90rfj Wrote:  Is it possible to use a Yealink phone by plugging the phone into a laptop?

I use a mobile hotspot to get online. I do not have a router.

Thanks

I think what you want is not possible, because:
- The laptop is not capable to connect Wi-Fi to the physical ethernet line and v.v.
- The laptop cannot act as a switch.

Hope this helps.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
06-24-2017 07:44 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Phonism Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Yealink connection via laptop?
In Windows, you can bridge your wifi or other (hotspot) internet connection to the ethernet port. I used to do this all the time as a quick method to get my Xbox 360 online when I didn't have the official USB WiFi adapter. I'm sure there's a way to do it in OSX and Linux too.

The laptop cannot power the phone over ethernet though, you will need an external adapter.

- Daniel

Engineering Team @ Phonism
https://phonism.com/
06-26-2017 09:35 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
afsfwmw90rfj Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Yealink connection via laptop?
(06-26-2017 09:35 AM)Phonism Wrote:  In Windows, you can bridge your wifi or other (hotspot) internet connection to the ethernet port. I used to do this all the time as a quick method to get my Xbox 360 online when I didn't have the official USB WiFi adapter. I'm sure there's a way to do it in OSX and Linux too.

The laptop cannot power the phone over ethernet though, you will need an external adapter.

- Daniel


Thanks so much. I have the external adaptor, I have Windows 7. I'll see what I can do. thanks again
06-26-2017 02:00 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Do Yealink IP Phones Support ZRTP? nolto 0 125 01-15-2023 11:35 PM
Last Post: nolto
  Yealink WH67 Control Buttons Not Working with Yeastar Linkus PC. nolto 4 1,598 01-15-2023 09:59 PM
Last Post: nolto
  integrate Salesforce CRM to Yealink phones mehdi.ett 3 9,013 12-21-2022 02:20 PM
Last Post: Arun Kiran
  ERR_CERT_INVALID - your connection is not private - unable to access webinterface T27 nSolvePaul 1 372 12-17-2022 12:59 AM
Last Post: HRYHORY
  Yealink WH62 Firmware Ikheo 0 333 12-01-2022 09:34 PM
Last Post: Ikheo
  Yealink Root CA beghdadi-m 0 349 12-01-2022 02:53 AM
Last Post: beghdadi-m
  How to call with Yealink MP54 Teams edition Danielelawan 1 775 10-18-2022 04:24 PM
Last Post: Gunnyma
Sad Disabling TLS 1.1 & 1.3 on Yealink SIP-T31P Lilpombo 2 1,120 08-25-2022 11:09 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Yealink Compatibility Kestrel4765 1 874 08-22-2022 03:55 AM
Last Post: complex1
  Yealink Academy is launched NOW! Leah_Yealink 2 5,749 08-11-2022 05:52 PM
Last Post: complex1

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication