[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
Author Message
Voore Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 17
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
Dual wan with yealink
I'm using a Dual wan router for fail-over, and for some reason when my router is failing over to the 2nd wan and all my commuters are getting internet my phones will not register till i will reboot it,

is there any way i can set this up that it should automatically registering after its failing over?
01-15-2013 03:31 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,683
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 25
Post: #2
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
(01-15-2013 03:31 AM)Niki Wrote:  Dual wan with yealink
I'm using a Dual wan router for fail-over, and for some reason when my router is failing over to the 2nd wan and all my commuters are getting internet my phones will not register till i will reboot it,

is there any way i can set this up that it should automatically registering after its failing over?

Hi Niki,
Do you mean the scenario is like below ,
Phone and PC in the same internal network ,the pbx is in the internet, both them connect to the internet throught the router, there are two router, first , both the pc and phone connect to the router 1, when router 1 fail, router 2 take over the serive, but the phone will register fail while the pc can connect to the internet successfully, right ?
could you please check if the attached network topology is correct or not ?
could you please send the PCAP trace for us to check?

Best Regards!
Yealink Support Team


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
(This post was last modified: 01-18-2013 07:19 PM by Yealink Support.)
01-18-2013 07:00 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Voore Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 17
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
no, here is what I have, I'm connecting to a hosted PBX, I have 1 Dual WAN router with 2 Internet connections, if my first Internet connection is going down the same router connects right a way to the second connection and all my PCs are right away to the the 2nd internet but won't register till a reboot
01-18-2013 10:34 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
clamphy Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
(01-18-2013 10:34 PM)Niki Wrote:  no, here is what I have, I'm connecting to a hosted PBX, I have 1 Dual WAN router with 2 Internet connections, if my first Internet connection is going down the same router connects right a way to the second connection and all my PCs are right away to the the 2nd internet but won't register till a reboot

I have the very same problem, is there any solution for this issue?
So, Yealink T46G phones + dual WAN Cisco RV320 router.
11-05-2014 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #5
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
Have you guys checked the registration timers on the phones? From the phone's point of view, it has no clue that the internet connection has failed/changed (how would it, it's behind NAT so unless it was trying to determine the public IP of the network it would never know... and it has no reason to ever want to do that). So the phone carries on as usual as if nothing has changed. The problem is the registrations on the PBX side are still pointing at the old public IP (the internet connection that failed).

In order for the PBX to see the phones on the new IP, the phones need to re-register. A reboot of course does this manually. The phones also have registration timers that determine how often the re-registration happens on it's own. I can't remember the defaults now but it's typically 3600 or something like that (once per hour). If you turn that time down (say 120 seconds... once every 2 minutes) then you should find things working better. At worst there will be 2 minutes of downtime when the internet flips over.

The only other option would be to rig up some scripting/process on the router to notify the phones when the internet connection changes. I would expect that's far beyond what you will be able to achieve though, especially on the low end Cisco units.
11-05-2014 11:13 PM
Find all posts by this user    like1    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
clamphy Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
(11-05-2014 11:13 PM)jolouis Wrote:  Have you guys checked the registration timers on the phones? From the phone's point of view, it has no clue that the internet connection has failed/changed (how would it, it's behind NAT so unless it was trying to determine the public IP of the network it would never know... and it has no reason to ever want to do that). So the phone carries on as usual as if nothing has changed. The problem is the registrations on the PBX side are still pointing at the old public IP (the internet connection that failed).

In order for the PBX to see the phones on the new IP, the phones need to re-register. A reboot of course does this manually. The phones also have registration timers that determine how often the re-registration happens on it's own. I can't remember the defaults now but it's typically 3600 or something like that (once per hour). If you turn that time down (say 120 seconds... once every 2 minutes) then you should find things working better. At worst there will be 2 minutes of downtime when the internet flips over.

The only other option would be to rig up some scripting/process on the router to notify the phones when the internet connection changes. I would expect that's far beyond what you will be able to achieve though, especially on the low end Cisco units.

Thanks a lot jolouis for your answer. I will try to reduce the registration time to 120sec. I hope this will not interfere with the ongoing calls. What will happen with the calls longer than 2mins?
11-05-2014 11:48 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #7
RE: DUAL WAN WITH YEALINK
Registration doesn't have an impact on active calls... the registration just tells the PBX where to send new calls to.

Keep in mind of course if there is an active call and the primary internet connection goes down, the call will get dropped. The difference will be after a maximum of 120 seconds new calls will be able to flow from the PBX to the phone again, and vice versa, using the backup link (where as before it would take up to 3600 seconds before that could happen).
11-08-2014 02:41 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Yealink Support - RMA shamrockyealink 0 104 09-21-2023 02:49 AM
Last Post: shamrockyealink
  Yealink T58W and Grandstream UCM6308 delayed audio on outgoing calls waltersjo 0 255 09-11-2023 10:56 PM
Last Post: waltersjo
Question Yealink A10 Freezing billy.cervantes@aryon.com.au 1 822 07-14-2023 04:41 AM
Last Post: PaulaShows
Lightbulb Yealink T48G Won't Turn On (No Power) Bill. 5 22,579 07-08-2023 08:10 AM
Last Post: ziksk8
  Yealink A10 loses connection afisher 2 1,563 06-29-2023 09:47 PM
Last Post: kevinbolderman
  Yealink MP56 device - MS Teams Join Button Dan.M 0 586 06-21-2023 10:02 PM
Last Post: Dan.M
  Yealink DECT with Microsoft Teams robnicholsonmalt 0 492 06-10-2023 02:28 AM
Last Post: robnicholsonmalt
  Yealink CP900 issue with Win11 - Help QMarkIT 0 514 05-16-2023 01:45 PM
Last Post: QMarkIT
  Import xml contacts to Yealink Phone upon provisioning via TFTP vusald 1 1,537 02-18-2023 06:30 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Do Yealink IP Phones Support ZRTP? nolto 0 751 01-15-2023 11:35 PM
Last Post: nolto

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication