New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Author Message
stoogefan Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
I agree. It would be nice to be able to define a label for each number.

As a temporary (hopefully) workaround, I use separate directory entries for each number:
Code:
<YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson</Name>
  <Telephone>1107</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Mobile)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-248-1234</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Office)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-549-4321</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Home)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-262-0101</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
</YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
It's not a perfect solution, but it works well on the T46G where you have a large display and the long names fit on the screen. Even the T42G will scroll the names in its smaller display. Older phones, such as the T28P, seem to cut off the end of the names.

LDAP Directories suffer from the same problem where you can query different types of numbers, but the results don't tell you what type of number you are looking at. The only thing I could think of is having separate entries per number. I ended up writing a php page that queries Active Directory and outputs xml in the above format.

I have also found that the new phones automatically sort the list whereas the older ones don't.
09-28-2013 02:06 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone - stoogefan - 09-28-2013 02:06 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Impossible to upload a csv to Phonebook Germain 7 42 Today 07:25 AM
Last Post: Babylonia
  Disable line x while phone is set to DND IT-Risch_Support 3 117 08-07-2019 02:00 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Phonebook generation tool dscope 1 225 07-24-2019 06:42 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T42G latest fw phone web interface invalid password clevoip 2 984 06-03-2019 03:03 PM
Last Post: Dario
  Remote PhoneBook ftp aralmeida 2 777 05-17-2019 04:19 AM
Last Post: Denise558
  Format of Multicast RTP stream srcurtis 6 8,411 04-19-2019 02:25 AM
Last Post: Helia_Dar
  T42S phone not allowing to change default admin password? SysAdmin-Edgar 1 478 03-15-2019 01:46 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Different users on the same phone on SIP-T27G econnet 2 840 01-02-2019 01:46 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Remote Phonebook XML version, http(s) ssstofff 1 1,053 12-10-2018 07:25 AM
Last Post: ssstofff
  CDP enable after factory reset cause the phone can't obtain IP address ccy 4 1,096 11-30-2018 02:34 PM
Last Post: jolouis

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication