New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Author Message
stoogefan Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
I agree. It would be nice to be able to define a label for each number.

As a temporary (hopefully) workaround, I use separate directory entries for each number:
Code:
<YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson</Name>
  <Telephone>1107</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Mobile)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-248-1234</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Office)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-549-4321</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Home)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-262-0101</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
</YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
It's not a perfect solution, but it works well on the T46G where you have a large display and the long names fit on the screen. Even the T42G will scroll the names in its smaller display. Older phones, such as the T28P, seem to cut off the end of the names.

LDAP Directories suffer from the same problem where you can query different types of numbers, but the results don't tell you what type of number you are looking at. The only thing I could think of is having separate entries per number. I ended up writing a php page that queries Active Directory and outputs xml in the above format.

I have also found that the new phones automatically sort the list whereas the older ones don't.
09-28-2013 02:06 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone - stoogefan - 09-28-2013 02:06 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Search Phonebook Prozper 2 285 11-13-2019 09:15 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Yealink Phone to Send Private IP Address on Register Ari 4 617 10-23-2019 10:04 PM
Last Post: Ari
  Phonebook Creation 64bit Rus 1 1,554 10-23-2019 08:29 PM
Last Post: dwooster
  Slow response when user presses buttons means phone number enters incorrectly chris.stewart 1 345 09-26-2019 06:58 AM
Last Post: Jacqueline250
  Impossible to upload a csv to Phonebook Germain 8 1,034 09-07-2019 09:11 AM
Last Post: anksharmoli
  COM-DEX compatible Bluetooth phone fizzypop 1 338 08-28-2019 02:39 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  COM-DEX compatible Bluetooth phone fizzypop 0 232 08-28-2019 02:31 PM
Last Post: fizzypop
  Disable line x while phone is set to DND IT-Risch_Support 3 595 08-07-2019 02:00 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Phonebook generation tool dscope 2 1,228 07-24-2019 06:42 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T42G latest fw phone web interface invalid password clevoip 2 1,428 06-03-2019 03:03 PM
Last Post: Dario

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication