New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Agent queue status on DSS key
Author Message
topnotch Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: Agent queue status on DSS key
(06-11-2015 10:16 AM)cadillackid Wrote:  
(04-27-2015 04:33 AM)rider641 Wrote:  
(02-03-2015 07:42 AM)cadillackid Wrote:  this is an old thread but we accomplish this by using an XML key and a script that Logs the agent in or out as a toggle of the key.. and use XML to control the LED of the phone as on or off.

to monitor the Queue itself we use a BLF and the queue provides a hint to subscribe to, so when a call is in the queue it will set the hint as IN_USE and the light will turn red.
-Christopher

Hi cadillackid,

I am very interested in your solution.
Could you please provide me with your script?
Thank you a lot.
Sincerely.

are you guys using Asterisk? my script is PHP and designed to log an agent into the queue using the asterisk AMI, for the queue status light, there is a known patch (and in asterisk 11 and above it is a permanent feature) to subscribe your button as a BLF to the queue..

say your queue name is 'callcenter', you would set up the monitored extension on the BLF as Queue:callcenter which then (by asterisk default) goes to 'AST_DEVICE_RINGING' which makes the BLF key flash. we enhanced it slightly by taking a queue count in queue.c and patching asterisk in our cloud server to have the BLF go to 'In use' for 1 call in the queue, and go to 'ringing' for more than 1 call in the queue.

I dont think my script will work if you are using 3CX as its a PHP that talks directly to asterisk. if you are asterisk I can show you how it works.
-Christopher

Hey Chris,

Can you assist me in getting this set up?
I am unable to get to work. I am using an asterisk system.
09-19-2015 12:26 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: Agent queue status on DSS key - topnotch - 09-19-2015 12:26 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Availability status on phone screen Frank Drews 2 4,173 03-02-2018 02:47 PM
Last Post: syadnom
  Date/Time display in STATUS tab njackson 3 4,612 01-22-2018 08:04 PM
Last Post: KNERD
  "On the Phone" or "User Busy" status display into caller phone LCD ugo.viti 12 27,108 09-29-2016 09:43 PM
Last Post: jolouis
Star T48G - Status Icon on DSS URL Button cotwild 1 4,680 12-12-2014 04:48 PM
Last Post: James_Yealink
  Ability to change BLF status text habile 1 4,672 06-09-2014 11:04 AM
Last Post: Yealink Support
  Status Text on display (only few chars) GeorgSchwarz 3 14,597 12-13-2013 04:18 PM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication