New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
local_time.ntp_server1 requires *fully qualified* domain name
Author Message
Z Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
local_time.ntp_server1 requires *fully qualified* domain name
The documentation for local_time.ntp_server1 says only that "IP address or domain name" are permitted values.

My suggestion for the documentation is to add some explanatory text to let the reader know that "domain name" actually means fully qualified domain name, and that an unqualified hostname won't work.

The web management GUI merely says "Illegal address!" if the administrator tries to configure an unqualified hostname.

(Or, another option might be to update the firmware to accept unqualified hostnames, which many organisations use internally.)

(07-15-2019 07:29 PM)Z Wrote:  The documentation for local_time.ntp_server1 says only that "IP address or domain name" are permitted values.

My suggestion for the documentation is to add some explanatory text to let the reader know that "domain name" actually means fully qualified domain name, and that an unqualified hostname won't work.

The web management GUI merely says "Illegal address!" if the administrator tries to configure an unqualified hostname.

(Or, another option might be to update the firmware to accept unqualified hostnames, which many organisations use internally.)

Interestingly, unqualified hostnames are accepted in the auto-provisioning .cfg file, and NTP updates are successful. It appears to be only the web GUI which rejects unqualified hostnames.
(This post was last modified: 07-15-2019 07:35 PM by Z.)
07-15-2019 07:29 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
local_time.ntp_server1 requires *fully qualified* domain name - Z - 07-15-2019 07:29 PM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  local_time.dhcp_time conflicts with local_time.summer_time Z 0 142 07-15-2019 07:23 PM
Last Post: Z

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication