New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
Author Message
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 307
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 5
Post: #4
RE: How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
(01-21-2019 10:06 AM)oliv Wrote:  On a side note, from rfc3261 it self, you can read the following example:
INVITE sip:bob@biloxi.com SIP/2.0

From it, I thought one could literally find domain names in SIP URIs.
Technically that's possible, but all it means is that the underlying network stack is doing the DNS/address resolution and not showing it to the application layer.

It's like opening a web browser and typing in "www.yealink.com" in the address bar. When you do that, your computer uses DNS to translate "yealink.com" into an IP address, but you as the user don't see that happen.

Same thing with SIP packets. The difference is that most SIP applications (i.e. the client running on the Yealink phones, or the PBX itself) don't expect end users to be watching the actual packets/requests flowing back and forth, so for coding efficiency purposes they do the translation directly and encode the IPs into the packets instead of the domains.

Probably more of an answer/explanation than you were looking for, but hey too much info is always better than too little ;o)
01-21-2019 02:41 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ? - jolouis - 01-21-2019 02:41 PM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Slow response when user presses buttons means phone number enters incorrectly chris.stewart 1 143 09-26-2019 06:58 AM
Last Post: Jacqueline250
  User-Agent not consistent across models ABP_Support 1 1,217 02-01-2018 01:56 AM
Last Post: Evan_Yealink
  Creating a user account is nearly impossible! Chinese 2 2,271 08-28-2017 06:23 AM
Last Post: Paul_Yealink
  How to control user capability to self-configure phone keys oliv 2 2,899 02-14-2017 06:10 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  Phone is busy while user press dial pad digits but didnt actually "Dial" yet amichy 8 8,004 01-12-2017 07:08 AM
Last Post: amichy
  Ability to see the user you are calling is already on the Phone bootmee 4 5,630 08-04-2016 07:27 PM
Last Post: jmoore
  New user question pharvey 4 4,810 04-10-2015 09:45 PM
Last Post: pharvey
  Network Unavailable Requires User Input lbroyles 3 5,743 10-14-2013 11:21 AM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication