[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
LDAP lookup doesn't work, though directory is basically searchable (T56A / T58)
Author Message
Mr_Christian Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
LDAP lookup doesn't work, though directory is basically searchable (T56A / T58)
Hi,

we have several T56A and T58V which work in conjunction with a 3CX telephone system. The phones are configured to resolve the incoming / outgoing number. But though we can search the directory through the LDAP telephone book, we neither see the name of who is calling nor the name of who we are calling. Instead we see the plain telephone number.

Here is our configuration (see attached screenshot):

ldap.base = dc=3cx
ldap.call_in_lookup = 1
ldap.customize_label = Telefonbuch
ldap.dial_lookup = 1
ldap.display_name = %displayName
ldap.enable = 1
ldap.host = 192.168.182.7
ldap.name_attr = displayName cn sn
ldap.name_filter = (|(searchContact=%)(searchNumber=%))
ldap.numb_attr = telephoneNumber
ldap.number_filter = (searchNumber=%)
ldap.port = 712
ldap.user = 3cx

The LDAP directory is an Estos Metadirectory in version 4.0.3.5828. This directory supports special queries using searchContact and searchNumber which internally searches several fields and also takes care of formatting issues (like with or without country prefix, +49... or 0049..., and so on).

Using wireshark (see other screenshot), I could see that the LDAP server has been queried by the phone but - if I interpret it correctly - without any number within the LDAP-filter. Thus the result is not a single fitting contact but rather a list of non-fitting contacts (being the first entries of the whole directory). The phone presumably double-checks the number or can't handle the result having so many entries and thus shows nothing but the plain number.

I guess that the number which is sent to the LDAP server is not determined correctly. But why? How does the phone decide which number it sends to the LDAP server? And can I somehow configure this?

Thank you very much for your help!

Best regards
Chris

PS: Tested firmwares are 58.80.0.40 (newest) and 58.80.0.25.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
01-24-2018 04:23 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
LDAP lookup doesn't work, though directory is basically searchable (T56A / T58) - Mr_Christian - 01-24-2018 04:23 PM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  proxy bypass list for T56A/CP960 (Teams) not working thomas.hauff 0 244 10-05-2020 10:19 AM
Last Post: thomas.hauff
  Import phone directory w/pics WAVERLY 0 393 08-02-2020 11:31 AM
Last Post: WAVERLY
  LDAP timeout, but no reconnect MarcelM 0 490 06-16-2020 10:47 AM
Last Post: MarcelM
  T56A audio latency issues? stacehamilton 0 640 02-27-2020 03:21 PM
Last Post: stacehamilton
  Bluetooth on T56A with Teams doesn't work asygma 2 1,435 02-26-2020 09:59 AM
Last Post: asygma
  T56A/T58A door phone questions xgonc 1 1,034 01-07-2020 05:01 PM
Last Post: Yisroel_MongoTEL
  Recovery FW files - SIP-T56A MiKeDaDoC 2 2,056 10-26-2019 06:45 AM
Last Post: MiKeDaDoC
  T56A SFB Can't search personal contacts? CTDhelpdesk 2 1,502 10-24-2019 04:05 PM
Last Post: CTDhelpdesk
  T56a Outbound Proxy it-infra.win 3 1,769 10-09-2019 07:12 AM
Last Post: thomas.hauff
  T56A USB port compatibility and BT/Wifi PCLiquidations 1 1,258 09-25-2019 02:27 PM
Last Post: Evan_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication