[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to dial a + sign with a desk phone ?
Author Message
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,333
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 39
Post: #6
RE: How to dial a + sign with a desk phone ?
(01-30-2017 12:42 PM)oliv Wrote:  
(01-30-2017 11:41 AM)complex1 Wrote:  
(01-30-2017 08:59 AM)oliv Wrote:  
(01-23-2017 08:06 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
(01-23-2017 02:53 PM)oliv Wrote:  Hello,

W56H DECT handset have the capability to dial a + sign with a long press on 0 key (+ sign is also visible on this key).

How can you dial this + sign on a Yealink desk phone ?
With mobile usage increasing, users are more and more familiar with this feature.

Best regards

Hi,

Yes, there is.

This you can read on page 35 of the T48G UG v80_60:
For *. key:
If it is the uppercase (ABC soft key), lowercase (abc soft key) or alphanumeric (2aB soft key) input mode, it will provide the following
special characters: . , ‘ ? ! \ - ( ) @ / : _ ; + & % = < > £ $ ¥ ¤ [ ] { } ~^ ¿ ¡ # ▏ §

Hello,

Thanks for replying !

I don't have any T48G desk phone so I can't try the above procedure by myself.

My question was quite general: with current touch-screen enabled smartphones or older keypad-equiped mobile phones, you could dial a plus sign with a long key press on 0 key.
You can also do it now with a W56H.

With a recent T29G, a long press on 0-key still dials a 0 digit, not a plus sign.
Similarily, on long press on 1-key doesn't dial your voicemail number either as it would with a mobile phone.

As Yealink phones are highly configurable and wireless phones configuration is very similar to desktop phone configuration, I'm hoping a configuration would allow system administrators to borrow those mobile-phone-like user interactions in desktop phones though I would even prefer to have this inheritance "proudly claimed" on keypad layout.

Using a T48G, how many actions are needed to dial a plus sign ?

The amount of actions on the T48G to get the + sign on the screen and after switching the input mode to 2aB is: press 16 times the *. key

For the SIP-T29P phone:
Please read chapter “Entering Data and Editing Fields” on page 37 of the User Guide.
Here you find a lists the input modes and character (or number) options for the keypad.
http://download.support.yealink.com/down...V81_20.pdf

OK now I know what you were referring to: thanks for taking time to include links.
So basically, there is currently no mean to easily dial +123456789.

I can't say this is weird as most desktop phones I'm looking at (Cisco, Digium, Aastra, ...) do not have any + on 0-key either.

Am I the one thinking phones should have such sign ?
I also would be very curious what would be the downside of such feature.

Please let me try to explain…

I don’t think there is a downside of this feature, but where would you want to use it for?

Mobile phones use the + sign only for international calls.
The + sign stands for international access code and this has been standardized.
On VoIP you (almost) never have to prefix the + sign if you dial a number. (national or international)

Example:
Here in Holland (The Netherlands) if we want to make an international call to e.g. Belgium we have to dial +32<number> or 0032<number>, if we want to make a call to the UK we have to dial +44<number> or 0044<number>, and so on.
So the plus sign "+" is to indicate that international calls use the international access code.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
01-30-2017 02:12 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: How to dial a + sign with a desk phone ? - complex1 - 01-30-2017 02:12 PM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Can MP56 Teams phone be converted to a standard SIP phone? jliu@grandriver.ca 0 152 11-10-2022 01:25 AM
Last Post: jliu@grandriver.ca
  Multicast Stops Working until Phone Rebooted Blake1 9 3,049 10-15-2022 12:04 AM
Last Post: jedhcrs
  MP54 Handset - Auto Dial on handset pickup/Off Hook TheGarrison 5 2,288 09-16-2022 03:04 AM
Last Post: imgibason
  MP56 phone stuck in Company Portal - Connecting loop jhurst@lansolutions.net 0 538 09-08-2022 06:59 AM
Last Post: jhurst@lansolutions.net
  URL for returning the current phone state? johnbeaumont 6 5,205 06-15-2022 05:21 AM
Last Post: troy44
  Click to dial from web browser h2g-vaka 7 10,876 06-10-2022 03:27 AM
Last Post: troy44
  Visitor preview before picking up the phone T58 dermosko 0 2,026 10-01-2021 11:41 AM
Last Post: dermosko
  Dial Shortcut from Directory customvoip 0 1,553 09-29-2021 05:46 AM
Last Post: customvoip
  Questions about the new MP58 phone jaseinatl 4 5,980 09-03-2021 01:09 AM
Last Post: ystrooba
Question why phone send gateway ip detect packet pig_tails 1 3,571 06-04-2021 08:38 PM
Last Post: KaithlynMoore

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication