New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Multiple OpenVPN accounts needed for multiline phones
Author Message
caldwell Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Multiple OpenVPN accounts needed for multiline phones
I've sent this through my distributor. So, hopefully, you will be hearing from them in the next week or so. I wanted to add it here in the forum so that others could add their thoughts about adding this feature:

*****************
A couple years back I requested that Yealink add this feature. Doesn’t look like they’ve ever really done much with it.

Yealink builds nice multi-line phones. But in a remote/distributed environment, the extra lines are worthless.

No one in their right mind wants to support SIP connections over the public Internet. That’s why the OpenVPN feature is so nice on the Yealink phones.

BUT, they only allow ONE vpn connection. This is pointless. OpenVPN is capable of maintaining multiple connections and multiple routes.

It would be very simple for them to alter their OpenVPN binary support to allow

Line 1 - VPN connection to server A
Line 2 - VPN connection to server B
Line 3 - VPN connection to server C

There is NO reason to make any of the routes a "default" route and force all traffic through it. On my computer, I can have multiple OpenVPN connections to servers around the world and support customers on their unique networks. A phone should be able to do the same.

I have immediate practical need of this feature. We have situations where users are running a 3 or 6 line phone and only being able to use ONE line because the servers they need to connect to are all behind VPNs.

This feature would make your multiline phones actually USEFUL as multiline phones.

If someone from Yealink wishes to speak with me directly (e-mail/phone) to discuss the details, I'd be happy to pursue it with you.

OR, if you want to open up your VPN API, maybe we can build it ourselves.
03-15-2015 02:33 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
Multiple OpenVPN accounts needed for multiline phones - caldwell - 03-15-2015 02:33 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Any possibility of supporting adjustable font size on SIP-T32G phones? Hoenle 5 8,201 06-19-2013 10:51 AM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication