[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Trying a factory reset from the base unit and nothing happens
Author Message
kueyama Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Trying a factory reset from the base unit and nothing happens
Hi,

Brief background on why I'm trying a factory reset. The phone had been working for 1 day and the web interface was working fine. I attempted to log into the web interface and the default username and password of "admin" did not work. I never changed it to begin with.

Since I could no longer log in with it I decided to try the factory reset from the base station by holding down the paging button and plugging the power back in. The unit does what the instructions say it's suppose to do by lighting up all of the LEDs starting from the bottom up, but it just sits there. I've left it alone for an hour on one attempt and still nothing. Just sits there with all LEDs light. I then unplug it and plug the power back in, connect the ethernet cord and it goes through it's initialization. It gets an IP address but my phone is no longer registered. I go through the process of registering it and it does it successfully using the default pin "0000". I mention this since when I try to do a factory reset from the phone and try the default pin of "0000" it says the pin is incorrect, but I just I used it to register the phone unless its a different pin. In any case, the phone is registered, the base gets an IP address, the web interface pops up with the login form but the default username and password "admin" do NOT work. I also notice that the base does not reset at all to defaults since it still works with my VoIP provider. Strange.

How else can I reset the base to factory defaults or am I missing a step somewhere?

Thanks,
Kenny
02-05-2015 03:13 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
Trying a factory reset from the base unit and nothing happens - kueyama - 02-05-2015 03:13 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  internal call between two base stations fails janus 1 2,883 01-07-2021 07:20 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Openvpn connection reset mrdibb 4 6,392 07-08-2020 02:05 PM
Last Post: mrdibb
  W52P factory reset without password ralph 1 4,900 04-02-2020 03:05 AM
Last Post: Yisroel_MongoTEL
  Can't de-register default base Nigutz 9 22,908 07-15-2019 09:11 PM
Last Post: GregoireG
  double base station proximity ipv6fill 2 6,719 03-21-2017 08:39 AM
Last Post: Kevin_Yealink
  New Handset Can't Register to Base SergioA 2 8,783 01-06-2017 06:20 PM
Last Post: SergioA
  Searching for Base aabramov 63 156,749 10-17-2016 10:43 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  Downgrading Base firmware to 25.73.0.27 from 25.73.0.40 bharat@metro 3 10,841 07-20-2016 08:53 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Reset Button on BS toshiesumi 3 8,370 07-05-2016 03:52 PM
Last Post: Yealink_Michael
  W52P Base default password under FW 26.73.0.11 ? voicewarellc 2 12,411 04-19-2016 07:21 AM
Last Post: VK2XXY

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication