New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Multicast without PBX?
Author Message
fonewiz Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
Multicast without PBX?
First my question:

Is it possible to configure T42 and T46 phones to page each other using multicast, without the PBX handling anything?

Now a little more explanation:
I have a customer we setup with 3CX as the phone system and about 35 T42's plus about 10 T46's. 3CX has a paging feature but it completely fails when more than 15 handsets are in the paging group. So, since there doesn't seem to be a solution for this for whatever reason on the 3CX side, I am thinking about going the Multi-Cast route.

I don't know much about multi-cast paging at this point so I am learning all I can.

One of my concerns with doing multi-cast paging is that the 3CX system and the Yealinks are on two separate subnets. Not knowing a lot about multi-cast, I am not sure it even works across subnets but, my guess is that it doesn't. If multi-cast won't work across subnets, then using it along with 3CX is not an option at all.

So, that leads me to the idea that, maybe, 3CX doesn't have to have anything to do with the multi-cast setup.

Can the Yealinks be setup to page across the same subnet they are on without the need for 3CX in the middle? If so, how would I go about setting this up?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.
01-08-2016 03:51 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
Multicast without PBX? - fonewiz - 01-08-2016 03:51 AM
RE: Multicast without PBX? - Karl_Yealink - 01-08-2016, 05:36 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Format of Multicast RTP stream srcurtis 6 7,865 04-19-2019 02:25 AM
Last Post: Helia_Dar
  Multicast to PC through PC port agle 1 1,582 09-30-2017 07:45 AM
Last Post: Samuel_Yealink
  Multicast to PC through PC port Dennis_1 1 1,540 09-27-2017 01:59 AM
Last Post: Samuel_Yealink
  Multicast paging tone sunstatetech 3 3,290 05-04-2017 07:23 PM
Last Post: GIWM
  Analog input to multicast paging rlsabin 4 6,645 11-03-2016 12:46 AM
Last Post: kahaen
  Multicast T23 kriner 3 2,685 04-14-2016 04:57 AM
Last Post: kriner
  multicast paging T-19 jpinder70 3 4,082 03-16-2016 04:08 AM
Last Post: abe_b
Question MULTICAST re-register now command ? dlmc 2 4,136 11-12-2014 11:42 PM
Last Post: dlmc

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication