New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Admin password changes on T28P
Author Message
Klaus Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 167
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Admin password changes on T28P
Hi,

For this issue,please long press the "ok" button,then there will show a warning sentence,select ok,then the phone will reset,

after that,please try to use double "admin" to access the web UI!

if it can not work either,please contact the server provider or phone provider for help,because if you have a DHCP or PNP

enviroment,once you reset the phone,phone will send request to the server,and download the cfg files again.

so if there is sentence about password and username in the cfg file,please delete it,then test again!

Any question,please contact me freely!

TKS&BR

klaus
12-15-2015 06:49 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Messages In This Thread
RE: Admin password changes on T28P - Yealink_Klaus - 12-15-2015 06:49 AM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  T28P V73 Firmware - BLF Lights no longer work ndurain 5 4,852 06-02-2015 05:00 AM
Last Post: rkellogg
  V73 unwanted item on T28p tsukraw 2 2,641 10-14-2014 05:23 PM
Last Post: Yealink_James

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication