[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Newbie Help
Author Message
davidrichards27 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Newbie Help
(04-07-2022 10:37 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
(04-07-2022 08:17 PM)davidrichards27 Wrote:  
(04-07-2022 08:07 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
(04-07-2022 04:54 PM)davidrichards27 Wrote:  Hi Guys

Please forgive me, not sure where this question should be posted to!

My employer has sent me a YeaLink phone for my use when working from home.

The question I have is - can this phone just connect straight into the back of my PC or does it have to connect to my Virgin Media Hub? If this is the case, I will need to have a plug adaptor in the wall to connect the phone to and another plug adaptor in the cupboard to connect to the hub, which is quite a lot to have to set up, so I was kind of hoping the phone could run directly from the network connector on the PC??

I hope this all makes sense and look forward to any advise offered!!

Thanks a lot
David

Hi,

You will find 2 network ports on the back of your phone.
One port has a computer icon, the other the internet icon.

You have to disconnect the network cable that connects the computer to your router on the computer side and plug it into the port with the internet icon at the back of the phone.

Now you must use the network cable supplied with the device to connect the computer to the telephone (PC port).

Now both the phone and computer are connected to the internet.

Thanks for this, I suppose the fact that my PC is connected wirelessly to the hub means this option will not work and I need, in fact, to connect the phone directly to the hub via the plugs etc??

Many thanks
David

If you use one of the phones from the Yealink T5xW series (W stands for wireless), you have the option of connecting these phones wirelessly (via WiFi) to your hub.
If you use another Yealink device, it will have to be connected to the hub with a network cable.

It appears I have the Yealink T46U VoIP/SIP Phone (SIP-T46U) unit, I have just seen online that a Yealink WF40 Wi-Fi USB Dongle will allow wireless connection - do you know if this means I can use this to connect to my network without cabling to the hub unit?

Sorry to ask so many questions, but this is completely new to me!!!

Thanks
David
04-07-2022 10:43 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0
Thread Closed 


Messages In This Thread
Newbie Help - davidrichards27 - 04-07-2022, 04:54 PM
RE: Newbie Help - complex1 - 04-07-2022, 08:07 PM
RE: Newbie Help - davidrichards27 - 04-07-2022, 08:17 PM
RE: Newbie Help - complex1 - 04-07-2022, 10:37 PM
RE: Newbie Help - davidrichards27 - 04-07-2022 10:43 PM
RE: Newbie Help - complex1 - 04-08-2022, 07:11 PM
RE: Newbie Help - davidrichards27 - 04-08-2022, 07:13 PM

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  NewBie falah21 1 4,741 04-09-2014 05:34 PM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication