New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Author Message
Medryn Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Hello, I have the T46G but my question is not specific to the phone as I know you use remote phonebook across a lot of your devices. I have setup the remote phonebook and when I list multiple numbers for a contact such as:

<DirectoryEntry>

<Name>Mike Kilpatrick</Name>

<Telephone>1040</Telephone>
<Telephone>5099512734</Telephone>
<Telephone>9542478712</Telephone>

</DirectoryEntry>

And then I go to the directory on my phone and to that contact, the numbers on the phone are show like this:

Number0 1050
Number1 5099512734
Number2 9542478712

That works, but it is very generic and unprofessional. What I would like to see is:

Extension 1050
Home 5099512734
Mobile 9542478712

Is there any possible way to code the XML file so that you can set these type of titles on each number listed for a contact? If not, you really should develop that because the Number0, Number1, etc format is extremely generic and unprofessional.

Appreciate the help,

Mike
09-27-2013 11:53 PM
Find all posts by this user    like1    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
stoogefan Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
I agree. It would be nice to be able to define a label for each number.

As a temporary (hopefully) workaround, I use separate directory entries for each number:
Code:
<YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson</Name>
  <Telephone>1107</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Mobile)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-248-1234</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Office)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-549-4321</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
<DirectoryEntry>
  <Name>Homer Simpson (Home)</Name>
  <Telephone>555-262-0101</Telephone>
</DirectoryEntry>
</YealinkIPPhoneDirectory>
It's not a perfect solution, but it works well on the T46G where you have a large display and the long names fit on the screen. Even the T42G will scroll the names in its smaller display. Older phones, such as the T28P, seem to cut off the end of the names.

LDAP Directories suffer from the same problem where you can query different types of numbers, but the results don't tell you what type of number you are looking at. The only thing I could think of is having separate entries per number. I ended up writing a php page that queries Active Directory and outputs xml in the above format.

I have also found that the new phones automatically sort the list whereas the older ones don't.
09-28-2013 02:06 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #3
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Hi all,
Thanks for your suggestion, and sorry for the inconvenience.
We will submit to our product department to evaluate this, any update will let you know ASAP.
Thanks.
09-28-2013 03:00 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
bsutton Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
(09-28-2013 03:00 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  Hi all,
Thanks for your suggestion, and sorry for the inconvenience.
We will submit to our product department to evaluate this, any update will let you know ASAP.
Thanks.

Any update on this?
04-01-2014 09:04 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
minooch Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 16
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Bump - Would love an update on this
06-25-2014 01:43 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
kamaxeon Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 7
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Any advance ???
07-16-2014 10:11 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #7
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Hi all,

Our product department is evaluating this requirement. Any update will let you know ASAP.

Sincerely thanks for your support to Yealink product!
07-22-2014 03:32 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
mannan_m@standard-group.com Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Hi Yealink Support

we are facing the same problem, please update us asap. please................
07-25-2014 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #9
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
Hi all.
our product department will consider to add it in the next version.
08-22-2014 11:01 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
bunce Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Remote Phonebook - Numbers Display Format On Phone
How long does it take to 'consider' something? its been over a year!!!
12-12-2014 05:18 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Disable line x while phone is set to DND IT-Risch_Support 3 106 08-07-2019 02:00 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Phonebook generation tool dscope 1 179 07-24-2019 06:42 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T42G latest fw phone web interface invalid password clevoip 2 967 06-03-2019 03:03 PM
Last Post: Dario
  Remote PhoneBook ftp aralmeida 2 759 05-17-2019 04:19 AM
Last Post: Denise558
  Format of Multicast RTP stream srcurtis 6 8,380 04-19-2019 02:25 AM
Last Post: Helia_Dar
  T42S phone not allowing to change default admin password? SysAdmin-Edgar 1 461 03-15-2019 01:46 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Different users on the same phone on SIP-T27G econnet 2 825 01-02-2019 01:46 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  Remote Phonebook XML version, http(s) ssstofff 1 1,033 12-10-2018 07:25 AM
Last Post: ssstofff
  CDP enable after factory reset cause the phone can't obtain IP address ccy 4 1,074 11-30-2018 02:34 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  yealink Phonebook Tool Oliaargau 6 8,270 11-26-2018 08:04 AM
Last Post: adminSMIT

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication