[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Searching in the Phonebook
Author Message
BARDINET Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Searching in the Phonebook
Hi, from France

My customers doesn't use the phonebook :(because of it's too long to find the right correspondant . The problem is the phone match caracters in the whole name of the correspondant,instead of searching in the beginning of the name. So, you will find more matchs in the phonebook, but it will take more time to find the right one.

Is there any solution ?Idea[/align]
09-12-2015 05:39 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
James_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,159
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
RE: Searching in the Phonebook
Sorry, the search method can't be changed. Customers may need to input one or two more caracters to match precisely.
09-12-2015 09:27 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
BARDINET Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Searching in the Phonebook
(09-12-2015 09:27 PM)Yealink_James Wrote:  Sorry, the search method can't be changed. Customers may need to input one or two more caracters to match precisely.

So I Think Yealink should work on it. It seems no tveruy difficult to introduce a choice, like "search method : Anywhere-First characters".

In the same way, could be nice if Central or Company Directory could be fed from the device, not only the device directory.
09-12-2015 10:31 PM
Find all posts by this user    like1    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
ivo.polak Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Searching in the Phonebook
Hello from the Netherlands,

A costumer of mine is experiencing the same issue. They even tell me "we are used to search on the last name, this feature was standard on our previous phone platform". Too bad this is not an option at the moment. Hope Yealink can find an option to change this in the future.

Good luck with you customer BARDINET!
10-28-2015 04:46 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Frank Drews Offline
Member
***

Posts: 63
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Searching in the Phonebook
I agree. Having an option to search only the first letters would be very valueable. In fact I think it could be the default behaviour, no option needed. Search the first letters of name and sir name. Like autocomplete while dialing telephone numbers: you don't do compare full-text, you show numbers starting with the same digits.

(09-12-2015 09:27 PM)Yealink_James Wrote:  Sorry, the search method can't be changed. Customers may need to input one or two more caracters to match precisely.

In european languages, you tend to have combination of letters, which in comination form one sound and which appear very often.

E.G. in German there is "sch", simlar ot "sh" in English

If I search for "Schmid", a very common name in German, and I have a phonebook of 200 people, if I press "S" I will get like 100 hits, S being a very common letter.
If i would get just the people starting with S, I would get maybe 20 hits. Few enough to use scrolling.
Currently I have to go on typing (not using a keyboard but pressing a key multiple times for one letter). As soon as three letters are in the phone "sch", there still will be to many results as "sch" is a very common combination in German.

There are tons of those common combination. Typing an additional 3 letters, means like 8 additional key presses. This takes a long time.

Here at my company my users are not using the Yealink telephonebook. Looking a a sheet of paper of accessing a website is way faster.

The phonebooks could be really valuable, if search would be easier.
(This post was last modified: 07-13-2016 08:55 PM by Frank Drews.)
07-13-2016 08:42 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  LDAP phonebook search for number types StefanL 6 11,958 08-09-2017 09:10 AM
Last Post: StefanL
  Start dialing directly from phonebook on handset pickup bondingAC 1 6,192 08-28-2014 10:07 AM
Last Post: Nicole_Yealink
  PhoneBook Generation Tool on Windows 7 and 8 edwinlansbergen 1 7,177 01-03-2014 10:44 AM
Last Post: Yealink Support
  Remote Phonebook Cache ash 1 7,625 06-10-2013 02:30 PM
Last Post: Yealink Support
  Second dial tone and dial from phonebook by handset off-hook xmichald 0 6,044 03-06-2013 08:04 AM
Last Post: xmichald

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication