[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WiFi for T46G
Author Message
nolavoip Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
WiFi for T46G
Hello,

My name is Pete Zito with Zito Telecom. I am new to the Yealink Forum but not so new to reselling Yealink products.

My issue is.....I have a potential client that needs about 4-5 T46G's but wants them ALL Wi-Fi and doesn't want to run Cat5/6 cables.

I spoke to my Distributor and they weren't much help :/

What would be my best bet for this situation?

Thanks,

Pete Zito
NolaVoIP.com
07-04-2013 09:30 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
RE: WiFi for T46G
(07-04-2013 09:30 AM)nolavoip Wrote:  Hello,

My name is Pete Zito with Zito Telecom. I am new to the Yealink Forum but not so new to reselling Yealink products.

My issue is.....I have a potential client that needs about 4-5 T46G's but wants them ALL Wi-Fi and doesn't want to run Cat5/6 cables.

I spoke to my Distributor and they weren't much help :/

What would be my best bet for this situation?

Thanks,

Pete Zito
NolaVoIP.com

Perhaps others will chime in but there are many stories out on the internet regarding VOIP and WIFI. Assuming the phone itself has no major issues then it seems to come down to the number of phones, the quality of the network and the ability to control QOS or vlan structure. Some people have had no issues.

If you are installing on an existing network then your potential for support issues and blame are very high.

http://community.spiceworks.com/topic/35...k-for-voip
07-04-2013 10:30 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 24
Post: #3
RE: WiFi for T46G
(07-04-2013 09:30 AM)nolavoip Wrote:  Hello,

My name is Pete Zito with Zito Telecom. I am new to the Yealink Forum but not so new to reselling Yealink products.

My issue is.....I have a potential client that needs about 4-5 T46G's but wants them ALL Wi-Fi and doesn't want to run Cat5/6 cables.

I spoke to my Distributor and they weren't much help :/

What would be my best bet for this situation?

Thanks,

Pete Zito
NolaVoIP.com
Hi Pete,
Sorry currently our T46G do not support WI-FI, but our future firmware will support it.
Thanks.
07-05-2013 11:28 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: WiFi for T46G
(07-04-2013 09:30 AM)nolavoip Wrote:  Hello,

My name is Pete Zito with Zito Telecom. I am new to the Yealink Forum but not so new to reselling Yealink products.

My issue is.....I have a potential client that needs about 4-5 T46G's but wants them ALL Wi-Fi and doesn't want to run Cat5/6 cables.

I spoke to my Distributor and they weren't much help :/

What would be my best bet for this situation?

Thanks,

Pete Zito
NolaVoIP.com

Having been in the same situation previously, I know there are a few other options out there to provide a wifi bridge... If there are computer workstations(windows Vista+) near the phones, you can use Windows built in bridge capabilities to share the computer's wifi via it's ethernet port. This worked pretty well for one of our clients, but has the downside of being dependent on the computer being "always on". Standby modes can cause a good amount of trouble.

There are also dedicated wifi bridge devices that are very affordable to provide a better "always on" connection. This model in particular can be powered by USB, so you can use the T-46g to power the bridge!

http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-Universal-E...net+bridge
07-12-2013 05:23 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
CWR Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 716
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 7
Post: #5
RE: WiFi for T46G
If you are near computers, why not use the Phones passthru port - wall to phone - phone to computer ?
I have also used an Airport Express to connect a phone to the network... The Express was connected as a bridge or something to the wxisting WiFi, then the phone plugged into the Express LAN port.
07-13-2013 02:08 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: WiFi for T46G
(07-13-2013 02:08 AM)craigreilly Wrote:  If you are near computers, why not use the Phones passthru port - wall to phone - phone to computer ?
I have also used an Airport Express to connect a phone to the network... The Express was connected as a bridge or something to the wxisting WiFi, then the phone plugged into the Express LAN port.

Sorry, that was a little unclear. Near computers that are connected via WiFi, without access to a wall port. This would essentially be the reverse of the normal passthrough, with the computer Ethernet port connected to the internet port on the phone providing the wifi bridge. A dedicated wifi bridge device is a lot simpler Wink
07-13-2013 02:12 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
CWR Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 716
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 7
Post: #7
RE: WiFi for T46G
yes - since it is only 5 phones, maybe 5 airport express at $100 each is the only solution... that way the computer does not have to be on.
07-13-2013 02:22 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: WiFi for T46G
Just an FYI for everyone, I have been testing the T-46 with the IOGEAR WiFi adapter above for a few weeks with great success! Sound quality is still good, and registration seems just as solid as hard wired. We are in a heavily saturated WiFi area as well, but the phone is only about 30 feet from the WiFi router.

It also appears that IOGEAR sells a multi-port version of the same device for connecting multiple phones in a small area.

Still hoping we can get direct WiFi Dongle support, but this is pretty close!
07-30-2013 05:01 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
engine411 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 115
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
RE: WiFi for T46G
Yealink, is there any beta firmware with wifi support yet? I've got a bunch of T46G's that I want to use on wifi.
08-16-2014 07:26 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: WiFi for T46G
Looking more into this myself, supporting multiple WiFi chipset drivers would be pretty difficult without making the firmware file much larger. I don't know if any "generic" linux driver that supports every WiFi dongle.

I still hope that we can get this feature, but at this point, I consider the usb powered 3rd party WiFi bridge adapters to be the best option. They are powered by the phone, they are almost the same price as a basic WiFi dongle, and work well in my experience. Edit: But you do have to deal with a 3rd party WiFi setup process that isn't built into the phone...
(This post was last modified: 08-16-2014 08:46 AM by Bryan Nelson.)
08-16-2014 08:45 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  VP59 - No Wifi 5G with new Firmware // No Call Recording anymore vilionmedia 3 3,101 11-07-2020 03:44 AM
Last Post: complex1
  Wifi Password Tip/Bug - Zero (0) Does Not Work joe1st 1 2,902 05-08-2020 09:54 AM
Last Post: complex1
  Versions (T46G) 28.83.0.55 sfrazier 2 2,817 01-08-2020 10:08 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  CP960 no wifi after putting in Teams Firmware deepeshsingh 1 2,848 10-14-2019 03:06 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Will the WiFI dongle work here? SimpleCom 3 4,613 02-01-2019 01:26 PM
Last Post: jolouis
Question How to optimize T46G? kubi 2 5,887 02-05-2018 02:48 PM
Last Post: Sbo
  WiFi USB Clair 5 8,730 08-10-2017 07:29 AM
Last Post: Alina
Bug T46G Configure key to operate as a VTR key? Will Redmond 5 9,853 05-20-2017 01:23 AM
Last Post: Kevin_Yealink
  My Sip-T46G won't power up anymore. David73 2 6,996 04-25-2017 09:24 PM
Last Post: David73
  Yealink T46G warranty ( T20170223.0076 ) SureBridge 1 4,808 03-10-2017 07:26 AM
Last Post: Klaus_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication