New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Author Message
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
T46G Sidetone Adjustment
So far the T46G is a wonderful phone! Is there a way to adjust the handset sidetone on this phone through a configuration file entry?

Compared to other phones I've installed (Aastra 57i for example) the sidetone is almost non-existent. In user tests the users weren't sure the call was still connected. The Aastra is also configurable for sidetone.
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2013 11:47 PM by briankelly63.)
07-04-2013 06:46 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #2
RE: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Hi Brian,
We will improve the sidetone in the next version, but now we still have no accurate time for it.
07-05-2013 02:38 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
SOLVED:T46G Sidetone Adjustment
(07-05-2013 02:38 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  Hi Brian,
We will improve the sidetone in the next version, but now we still have no accurate time for it.

The Sidetone can in fact be turned on through a configuration file entry! add the entry voice.side_tone = -3 to the global configuration for the T4XG which would be: y000000000028.cfg or the appropriate mac file and magically Sidetone will start to function (after a reboot).

This is a night and day difference and makes the phone much more usable. Yealink needs to add a web configuration screen item for this immediately.
07-09-2013 10:17 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #4
RE: SOLVED: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Hi Brian,
I already submitted to our product department for this request, any update will let you know ASAP.
Thanks.
07-09-2013 03:25 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
RE: SOLVED: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Some of this thread content is missing but the last part of the conversation was noting that sometimes the setting for sidetone just won't take effect without multiple provision now requests, changing a value in the global config file or a power down.

Update: Testing verifies that after a firmware upgrade the phone ignores the sidetone parameter unless you change the value, Autoprovision Now, change the value back, Auto Provision Now and then pick up the handset, switch between speaker and handset. After all that the value will take effect!
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2013 08:55 AM by briankelly63.)
09-15-2013 09:35 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
RE: SOLVED: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Update:
Testing verifies that after a firmware upgrade the phone ignores the sidetone parameter unless you change the value, Autoprovision Now, change the value back, Auto Provision Now and then pick up the handset, switch between speaker and handset. After all that the value will take effect!
Simply saving the file WITHOUT making a change doesn't work.

I did have one phone exhibit this behavior this morning and another did not so there may be some issue that makes some T46G's more prone to this than others.
(This post was last modified: 09-17-2013 12:38 AM by briankelly63.)
09-16-2013 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 22
Post: #7
RE: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
Hi Brian,
You should change your cfg file when you re-autoprovisioning, because if the phone detect that the cfg is the same as previous one, it will not provisioning again.
09-17-2013 02:22 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
briankelly63 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
RE: T46G Sidetone Adjustment
OK well that is where the problem is then! When you do a firmware upgrade the sidetone function is often reset. Since the phone sees that the autoprovision file hasn't changed it doesn't provision again which then leaves the sidetone at the default RATHER than at the proper value EVEN if you choose "AUTOPROVISON NOW".

FIRMWARE SOLUTION: 1. After a firmware upgrade the phone must re-provision even if it appears that nothing has changed. 2. The AUTOPROVISION NOW button in the GUI must force a re-provision.
09-17-2013 08:59 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Change standard outgoing line on T46G oestersund 1 785 12-15-2018 09:58 PM
Last Post: support2
Bug T46g & T48G RADIUS 802.1x and SHA256 Bigmac 22 17,397 08-13-2017 07:54 PM
Last Post: MiKeDaDoC
  T46G: How to deactivate Live Dialpad totally? Werner1959 6 5,561 03-05-2017 08:21 PM
Last Post: Werner1959
  T46G with exp40 Paulo Batista 2 3,147 11-06-2016 01:57 AM
Last Post: ModCraig
  T46G eaches only incoming calls, no outgoing calls Ddorf 2 2,966 10-27-2016 12:46 AM
Last Post: fraukas
  T46G Hostname not registering on DHCP fraukas 2 5,262 10-27-2016 12:34 AM
Last Post: fraukas
  T46G Issues Save Volume settings + BLF pickup Jeroen 3 6,796 08-31-2016 02:47 AM
Last Post: ModCraig
  [SOLVED] T46G one way audio on outgoing calls Kamik 3 4,829 08-16-2016 06:22 PM
Last Post: Kamik
  T46G Power Saving Paulo Batista 1 2,711 08-14-2016 12:47 AM
Last Post: PavlovsPuppy
  401/403 authorization error on remote asterisk from T46G over VPN hexhex 1 3,602 07-06-2016 02:10 AM
Last Post: hexhex

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication