[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
T55A Won't Provision
Author Message
jacobbehrnes Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2021
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
T55A Won't Provision
Upgraded to the latest version from Yealink's support site (https://support.yealink.com/documentFron...entId=281) and since then cannot provision the phone. The device will not receive a code to provision it, and signing in with the user's info send it back to the login screen after showing 'connecting' for a minute or so. I ran into other users that were having similiar issues on the Microsoft Teams support forum. Has anyone else experienced this?
04-16-2021 02:04 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
joerg.bruse@jbconcept.de Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2020
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: T55A Won't Provision
(04-16-2021 02:04 AM)jacobbehrnes Wrote:  Upgraded to the latest version from Yealink's support site (https://support.yealink.com/documentFron...entId=281) and since then cannot provision the phone. The device will not receive a code to provision it, and signing in with the user's info send it back to the login screen after showing 'connecting' for a minute or so. I ran into other users that were having similiar issues on the Microsoft Teams support forum. Has anyone else experienced this?

same problem here, endless loop
05-11-2021 09:36 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jacobbehrnes Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2021
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: T55A Won't Provision
I found that the problem was with DNS being unreachable. Once it was set manually in the phone it worked. I didn't see any errors that stated this in the phone log.
05-11-2021 09:44 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jeromedrees Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2020
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: T55A Won't Provision
(04-16-2021 02:04 AM)jacobbehrnes Wrote:  Upgraded to the latest version from Yealink's support site (https://support.yealink.com/documentFron...entId=281) and since then cannot provision the phone. The device will not receive a code to provision it, and signing in with the user's info send it back to the login screen after showing 'connecting' for a minute or so. I ran into other users that were having similiar issues on the Microsoft Teams support forum. Has anyone else experienced this?

Yes, same problem here with the T58A. Sad

Can anyone help?
06-10-2021 08:55 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Post: #5
RE: T55A Won't Provision
(06-10-2021 08:55 PM)jeromedrees Wrote:  
(04-16-2021 02:04 AM)jacobbehrnes Wrote:  Upgraded to the latest version from Yealink's support site (https://support.yealink.com/documentFron...entId=281) and since then cannot provision the phone. The device will not receive a code to provision it, and signing in with the user's info send it back to the login screen after showing 'connecting' for a minute or so. I ran into other users that were having similiar issues on the Microsoft Teams support forum. Has anyone else experienced this?

Yes, same problem here with the T58A. Sad

Can anyone help?

Hi,

After executing a firmware update, reset the device to factory default and try to provisioning the phone again.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
06-11-2021 01:20 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Can i update the firmware for a T55a from a usb stick? Litz62 0 613 09-21-2021 10:44 PM
Last Post: Litz62
  T55A Firmware Recovery via USB dave.barker 3 7,607 09-21-2021 10:41 PM
Last Post: Litz62
  T55A web interface refused to connect KilleenJeffrey 1 1,397 08-26-2021 06:48 PM
Last Post: MathFly_
  T55A Teams very slow, unresponsive craig.itdd 3 3,515 07-09-2021 04:13 PM
Last Post: SteHip
  Can't seem to auto-provision wallpaper T54W dscope 4 4,696 10-30-2020 09:05 PM
Last Post: dscope
  Contact card on T55A mobile number visibility stefanc 1 2,554 04-29-2020 05:12 AM
Last Post: stefanc
Lightbulb Dail-out T55A with Teams for Windows Remcovdb 0 1,955 03-25-2020 03:16 PM
Last Post: Remcovdb
  T55A - change firmware from Teams to SIP peterf 12 16,136 03-25-2020 05:33 AM
Last Post: Rahm1379
  SIP T55A Microsoft Team cannot boot lchan 3 4,987 03-13-2020 05:19 PM
Last Post: Yisroel_MongoTEL
  T55A - Durability & General Usage Reviews cssysadm 6 6,728 02-25-2020 06:41 PM
Last Post: chrismoo

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication