[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
Author Message
xBrito Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2020
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
I'm trying to set up a VoIP phone in my home office using a T23G. When connecting the phone direct to an ethernet port, it does not progress passed 'Obtaining IP Address' and I am unable to proceed.

I have checked using other ethernet ports but same result. I have confirmed the ports are working correctly, and have also tried a factory reset.

Any advice would be appreciated.
05-20-2020 07:55 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 997
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 26
Post: #2
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
(05-20-2020 07:55 AM)xBrito Wrote:  I'm trying to set up a VoIP phone in my home office using a T23G. When connecting the phone direct to an ethernet port, it does not progress passed 'Obtaining IP Address' and I am unable to proceed.

I have checked using other ethernet ports but same result. I have confirmed the ports are working correctly, and have also tried a factory reset.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi,

Was the factory reset successful?
Have you checked or switched the network cable between the phone and the switch?
Double check that you are using the internet connector and not the PC port on the back of the phone.

Kind regards,
Frank.

Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
05-20-2020 09:25 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
xBrito Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2020
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
(05-20-2020 09:25 AM)complex1 Wrote:  
(05-20-2020 07:55 AM)xBrito Wrote:  I'm trying to set up a VoIP phone in my home office using a T23G. When connecting the phone direct to an ethernet port, it does not progress passed 'Obtaining IP Address' and I am unable to proceed.

I have checked using other ethernet ports but same result. I have confirmed the ports are working correctly, and have also tried a factory reset.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi,

Was the factory reset successful?
Have you checked or switched the network cable between the phone and the switch?
Double check that you are using the internet connector and not the PC port on the back of the phone.

Hi
Thanks for your help.

As far as the phone indicates, the factory reset was successful.
The cable is new, but I did check using a cable tester and all good.
I can confirm that the cable is connected to the internet port, and not the PC port. This is also validated by the presented 'Obtain IP address' message, where as if I had connected to the PC port the message 'Network Unavailable; would be displayed.
05-20-2020 09:43 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 997
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 26
Post: #4
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
(05-20-2020 09:43 AM)xBrito Wrote:  Hi
Thanks for your help.

As far as the phone indicates, the factory reset was successful.
The cable is new, but I did check using a cable tester and all good.
I can confirm that the cable is connected to the internet port, and not the PC port. This is also validated by the presented 'Obtain IP address' message, where as if I had connected to the PC port the message 'Network Unavailable; would be displayed.

Hi,

Is this a used phone or new out of the box?
What do you see if you press the softkey "Menu" in front of the phone?
e.g. Is DHCP enabled and what is the current firmware version?
Have the used port on switch/router a LED indicator showing the cable and device is connected?

Kind regards,
Frank.

Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
05-20-2020 11:49 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
xBrito Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2020
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
(05-20-2020 11:49 AM)complex1 Wrote:  
(05-20-2020 09:43 AM)xBrito Wrote:  Hi
Thanks for your help.

As far as the phone indicates, the factory reset was successful.
The cable is new, but I did check using a cable tester and all good.
I can confirm that the cable is connected to the internet port, and not the PC port. This is also validated by the presented 'Obtain IP address' message, where as if I had connected to the PC port the message 'Network Unavailable; would be displayed.

Hi,

Is this a used phone or new out of the box?
What do you see if you press the softkey "Menu" in front of the phone?
e.g. Is DHCP enabled and what is the current firmware version?
Have the used port on switch/router a LED indicator showing the cable and device is connected?

Hi
This is a used phone but I believe to be fully working.
Pressing 'OK' gives the following information:
1. IPv4:
2. MAC: 00:15:65: etc (displayed MAC address)
3. Firmware: 44.80.0.25

DHCP VLAN is Enables
LED indicator is lit showing device is connected

Hope this helps
05-20-2020 12:18 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 997
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 26
Post: #6
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
(05-20-2020 12:18 PM)xBrito Wrote:  Hi
This is a used phone but I believe to be fully working.
Pressing 'OK' gives the following information:
1. IPv4:
2. MAC: 00:15:65: etc (displayed MAC address)
3. Firmware: 44.80.0.25

DHCP VLAN is Enables
LED indicator is lit showing device is connected

Hope this helps

Hi,

What you can try is to setup the phone manually, using the Phone UI, the WAN IP-address, Subnet Mask, Gateway and Prim DNS into the phone and check if the phone is accessible from the local network.
If this does not work then I think you have bought a bad working phone.
If the phone is reachable then first thing to do is update the firmware to at least 44.84.0.90

Kind regards,
Frank.

Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
05-20-2020 02:57 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #7
RE: T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address
One more thought is to manually disable all VLAN settings (DHCP VLAN, CDP, LLDP, etc). Just incase you've got a switch or something else on your network that's misconfigured and handing out those settings by mistake.

The other thing to check is to make sure DHCP on your network is actually working...
05-21-2020 01:05 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  how to connect yealink T23G to mikrotik openvpn server m.taghavi 4 584 10-11-2020 11:31 AM
Last Post: bozko
  Used T23G, can't factory reset, can't update MonkeySeeMonkeyDo 3 1,478 05-19-2020 07:19 PM
Last Post: Yisroel_MongoTEL
Smile Can a T29G Config.bin file be uploaded into a T23G Red Stone Telecom 0 789 03-29-2020 08:35 PM
Last Post: Red Stone Telecom
  T23G Unable to obtain IP after upgrade Duncan 2 1,725 12-31-2019 10:58 PM
Last Post: Duncan
  T23G Network unavailable obtaining ip address james king 4 9,996 12-04-2019 09:46 AM
Last Post: nn123nn
  T23G .bin and .rfs ? rmeunier 5 6,869 11-14-2019 01:57 PM
Last Post: Evan_Yealink
  openvpn[1205]: RESOLVE: Cannot resolve host address: myfake.dns.net:1194 rafael.catelecom 2 1,464 11-07-2019 02:24 PM
Last Post: rafael.catelecom
  T23G sending 0x5c packets once a minute DavidAUM 2 1,648 08-01-2019 06:12 PM
Last Post: DavidAUM
  T23G Unable to Transfer Calls Dorothea 2 3,479 03-30-2018 04:53 PM
Last Post: Dorothea
  T23G Group pickup caller id LeeDraper 1 2,831 12-22-2017 02:35 AM
Last Post: Paul_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication