[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Updating Firmware on T42S
Author Message
DBM14386 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2019
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Updating Firmware on T42S
My current firmware version is 66.83.0.33 and I am trying to update to the latest firmware version I downloaded, which is 66.84.0.15. I put the phone's IP address into my browser and log into the phone. Then I go to the settings tab and then click "Upgrade" on the left. I browse to the .rom file I downloaded and then hit "Open". Then I hit the "Upload" button. It tells me that it will take 5 minutes to update the firmware. I hit "OK" and let it do it's thing. The phone says it is downloading and then installing. After 5-7 minutes, I check the phone's firmware and it is still 66.83.0.33. Any ideas?
03-26-2019 05:05 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 997
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 26
Post: #2
RE: Updating Firmware on T42S
(03-26-2019 05:05 PM)DBM14386 Wrote:  My current firmware version is 66.83.0.33 and I am trying to update to the latest firmware version I downloaded, which is 66.84.0.15. I put the phone's IP address into my browser and log into the phone. Then I go to the settings tab and then click "Upgrade" on the left. I browse to the .rom file I downloaded and then hit "Open". Then I hit the "Upload" button. It tells me that it will take 5 minutes to update the firmware. I hit "OK" and let it do it's thing. The phone says it is downloading and then installing. After 5-7 minutes, I check the phone's firmware and it is still 66.83.0.33. Any ideas?

Hi,

The steps you follow are good, but what I think is that your phone is locked to an service provider, because everytime after you have upgrade the phone, the firmware downgrade again.
You can check this as follows: disconnect the phone from the internet, reset the phone to factory default, upgrade the firmware, check if the phone is running the new firmware, then reconnect the internet, check if the phone firmware is still up-to-date.
If the firmware revert to 66.83.0.33 I suggest to contact the service provider or reseller from who you buy the phone.

Hope this will help.

Kind regards,
Frank.

Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
03-26-2019 07:03 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
DBM14386 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2019
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Updating Firmware on T42S
(03-26-2019 07:03 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
(03-26-2019 05:05 PM)DBM14386 Wrote:  My current firmware version is 66.83.0.33 and I am trying to update to the latest firmware version I downloaded, which is 66.84.0.15. I put the phone's IP address into my browser and log into the phone. Then I go to the settings tab and then click "Upgrade" on the left. I browse to the .rom file I downloaded and then hit "Open". Then I hit the "Upload" button. It tells me that it will take 5 minutes to update the firmware. I hit "OK" and let it do it's thing. The phone says it is downloading and then installing. After 5-7 minutes, I check the phone's firmware and it is still 66.83.0.33. Any ideas?

Hi,

The steps you follow are good, but what I think is that your phone is locked to an service provider, because everytime after you have upgrade the phone, the firmware downgrade again.
You can check this as follows: disconnect the phone from the internet, reset the phone to factory default, upgrade the firmware, check if the phone is running the new firmware, then reconnect the internet, check if the phone firmware is still up-to-date.
If the firmware revert to 66.83.0.33 I suggest to contact the service provider or reseller from who you buy the phone.

Hope this will help.
The upgrade worked when the phone was not connected to the internet, but as soon as I connected it the firmware reverted back to 66.83.0.33. I just have to get that feature turned off somehow. Thank you for your help!
03-29-2019 03:29 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Babylonia Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2019
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Updating Firmware on T42S
(03-26-2019 05:05 PM)DBM14386 Wrote:  It tells me that it will take 5 minutes to update the firmware. I hit "OK" and let it do it's thing.
The phone says it is downloading and then installing. After 5-7 minutes,
I check the phone's firmware and it is still 66.83.0.33. Any ideas?

At least wait till the phone after upgrading has restarted itself.
Don't refresh web-browser till upgrade and restarting option is completely ended.
(This post was last modified: 07-26-2019 08:27 PM by Babylonia.)
07-24-2019 11:09 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Yealink T46s SFB Firmware change to T46s mhassi 1 55 12-01-2020 12:54 AM
Last Post: Yisroel_MongoTEL
  T42S call log / journal always empty hausrocker 3 463 11-28-2020 04:34 PM
Last Post: olidajin
  T42S Headset Button Hangup absoffthewake 1 990 11-13-2020 09:34 PM
Last Post: smuser
  Current Firmware T49G? Joseph1823 2 1,486 11-10-2020 05:59 PM
Last Post: egorrabota
  T42S factory reset without default password JeffWilkinson 12 2,728 11-03-2020 02:26 PM
Last Post: Jay_Yealink
  T46G - firmware downgrade jgolinuc 1 854 08-07-2020 02:05 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T46S firmware 66.85.0.5 not holding properly crazytel 2 1,647 07-09-2020 06:55 AM
Last Post: CCP
  Need to remove custom Fonality firmware 1CCT 13 8,273 06-18-2020 05:51 PM
Last Post: wadeorigger
  T46s / T42s apple airpods Dwagner 3 2,496 04-19-2020 05:07 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T42S or T23G - busy signal Emir_Sa 7 2,507 03-13-2020 12:14 PM
Last Post: complex1

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication