[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
Author Message
oliv Offline
Member
***

Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
Hello,

Lately, I wondered if I could configure a Yealink phone to use a domain name instead of an IP address, in the domain part of a SIP URI.

I picked a v84-enabled T42S phone and successively set :
account.1.sip_server.1.address = ipbx1.foobar.lan
account.1.sip_server.1.address = ipbx1
account.1.sip_server.1.address =192.168.1.1

Each time my server (an Asterisk instance) receives INVITEs or REGISTERs built with:
REGISTER sip:192.168.1.1:5060 SIP/2.0

I would expect the above line to be respectively:
REGISTER sip:ipbx1.foobar.lan:5060 SIP/2.0
REGISTER sip:ipbx1:5060 SIP/2.0
REGISTER sip:192.168.1.1:5060 SIP/2.0

Am I misunderstanding how SIP must work or is it something that can be configured ?

Best regards
01-17-2019 04:55 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
RE: How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
I think you're mis-understanding the purpose of domain names. From a general perspective their purpose is simply to give "human readable/understanable names" to IP addresses on a network/the internet.

When SIP devices communicate with each other, they always use IP addresses for the actual packets sent back and forth. If you configure a domain name for the server address, all that means is that the phone will resolve the domain to it's corresponding IP address before sending packets out.
01-18-2019 06:38 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
oliv Offline
Member
***

Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
OK then.

On a side note, from rfc3261 it self, you can read the following example:
INVITE sip:bob@biloxi.com SIP/2.0

From it, I thought one could literally find domain names in SIP URIs.

Thanks for replying
01-21-2019 10:06 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #4
RE: How to use <user>@<domain> instead of <user>@<ip> ?
(01-21-2019 10:06 AM)oliv Wrote:  On a side note, from rfc3261 it self, you can read the following example:
INVITE sip:bob@biloxi.com SIP/2.0

From it, I thought one could literally find domain names in SIP URIs.
Technically that's possible, but all it means is that the underlying network stack is doing the DNS/address resolution and not showing it to the application layer.

It's like opening a web browser and typing in "www.yealink.com" in the address bar. When you do that, your computer uses DNS to translate "yealink.com" into an IP address, but you as the user don't see that happen.

Same thing with SIP packets. The difference is that most SIP applications (i.e. the client running on the Yealink phones, or the PBX itself) don't expect end users to be watching the actual packets/requests flowing back and forth, so for coding efficiency purposes they do the translation directly and encode the IPs into the packets instead of the domains.

Probably more of an answer/explanation than you were looking for, but hey too much info is always better than too little ;o)
01-21-2019 02:41 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  VP59 - Teams-to-Teams Federated User issues darwin.ranzone@originnet.com 0 496 07-23-2020 04:41 PM
Last Post: darwin.ranzone@originnet.com
  Default user password... starion 4 2,260 10-30-2019 05:25 PM
Last Post: starion
  Slow response when user presses buttons means phone number enters incorrectly chris.stewart 1 1,406 09-26-2019 06:58 AM
Last Post: Jacqueline250
  User-Agent not consistent across models ABP_Support 1 2,098 02-01-2018 01:56 AM
Last Post: Evan_Yealink
  Creating a user account is nearly impossible! Chinese 2 3,516 08-28-2017 06:23 AM
Last Post: Paul_Yealink
  How to control user capability to self-configure phone keys oliv 2 4,038 02-14-2017 06:10 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  Phone is busy while user press dial pad digits but didnt actually "Dial" yet amichy 8 10,866 01-12-2017 07:08 AM
Last Post: amichy
  Ability to see the user you are calling is already on the Phone bootmee 4 7,846 08-04-2016 07:27 PM
Last Post: jmoore
  New user question pharvey 4 6,120 04-10-2015 09:45 PM
Last Post: pharvey
  Network Unavailable Requires User Input lbroyles 3 6,958 10-14-2013 11:21 AM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication