[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
T48S used with power adapter AND POE
Author Message
mrfokus Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
T48S used with power adapter AND POE
Hi!
To lower the charge of our POE Switch I connected a DC power adapter DC 5V (not original but with the right voltage) with the T48S. Since then there is only the red light permanently on without any further function.

Did I convert my device the quickest way to e-rubbish?

Thanks a lot and happy new year to the IP specialistst!

Jürgen
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2019 04:37 PM by mrfokus.)
01-07-2019 04:36 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,530
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 45
Post: #2
RE: T48S used with power adapter AND POE
(01-07-2019 04:36 PM)mrfokus Wrote:  Hi!
To lower the charge of our POE Switch I connected a DC power adapter DC 5V (not original but with the right voltage) with the T48S. Since then there is only the red light permanently on without any further function.

Did I convert my device the quickest way to e-rubbish?

Thanks a lot and happy new year to the IP specialistst!

Jürgen

Hi Jürgen,

Please note:

As stated in the Admin Guide:
If both PoE cable and power adapter is connected to the phone, then the IP phone use the PoE preferentially.

Warning message in the Quick Start Guide:
The IP phone should be used with Yealink original power adapter (5V/2A) only. The use of the third-party power adapter may cause the damage to the phone. Undecided

If the power LED indicator is on, the keypad is usable but the phone screen is black, please reboot your phone or try to reset the phone to factory default and try again.

Hope this will help.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
01-07-2019 06:15 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
mrfokus Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: T48S used with power adapter AND POE
(01-07-2019 06:15 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
(01-07-2019 04:36 PM)mrfokus Wrote:  Hi!
To lower the charge of our POE Switch I connected a DC power adapter DC 5V (not original but with the right voltage) with the T48S. Since then there is only the red light permanently on without any further function.

Did I convert my device the quickest way to e-rubbish?

Thanks a lot and happy new year to the IP specialistst!

Jürgen

Hi Jürgen,

Please note:

As stated in the Admin Guide:
If both PoE cable and power adapter is connected to the phone, then the IP phone use the PoE preferentially.

Warning message in the Quick Start Guide:
The IP phone should be used with Yealink original power adapter (5V/2A) only. The use of the third-party power adapter may cause the damage to the phone. Undecided

If the power LED indicator is on, the keypad is usable but the phone screen is black, please reboot your phone or try to reset the phone to factory default and try again.

Hope this will help.

Hi! Thanks for your quick response. I'm not sure if the keypad is still active. I think the phone is not booting any more. In that case do I have a chance to reset it? Or is it worth to repair it? I wouldn't throw it away if there is only a DCDC changer defect.

Thanks!!
01-08-2019 12:35 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,530
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 45
Post: #4
RE: T48S used with power adapter AND POE
Hi,

You can always try to reset the phone. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.
To reset the phone please long press the OK button (>10 sec), the phone will ask if you want to reset, then select OK or login to the phone and perform from there a reset. (On T48G, Settings > Upgrade > Reset)

I really don’t know if it is worth to repair it, it depend on what is wrong with it. Human labor is expensive. Maybe a new phone is cheaper.
Is there still warranty on the phone?

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
01-08-2019 01:51 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  T48s fw 66.84.0.15 Verizon - Need Recovery FW jonnya_ny 2 1,525 01-30-2024 05:23 AM
Last Post: jonnya_ny
  T48S DSS softkeys can only show two at at time afogul 0 677 12-09-2023 05:50 AM
Last Post: afogul
  T48S Handset logo and menu style jseeley 0 909 09-05-2023 08:52 AM
Last Post: jseeley
  T48S BLF Talking vs Ringing JordanHVRA 0 1,192 04-05-2023 01:31 PM
Last Post: JordanHVRA
Information Toggle Power LED or update config via remote? 48design-cg 0 1,240 01-17-2023 05:32 PM
Last Post: 48design-cg
  T48S Very Slow Response nolto 1 3,530 08-11-2022 05:51 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Yealink T48S won't factory reset djcartledge 3 5,660 07-16-2022 05:16 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Yealink T48s Firmware update failed dangmoss 2 7,816 02-19-2022 03:09 AM
Last Post: dangmoss
  Problem Change Firmware T48s from SFB to SIP Lars Maschke 2 6,955 01-14-2022 10:22 AM
Last Post: kumagera
  T48s setting outbound caller ID thunderzhao 1 5,327 09-10-2021 04:08 PM
Last Post: complex1

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication