[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Locked out of admin login
Author Message
Blue Chilli Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Locked out of admin login
Hi,

I have a customer with 3 X W52H handsets on a single W52P base unit. All phones and base unit are on the latest available firmware and these are the only phones in the building.

We have issues where handsets even 2M from the base unit, disconnect during a call and display the message "Initializing - please wait" or "searching for base".

I've rebooted the base unit but the problem still persists.

The issue I have now though, is that I can no longer login as admin/admin, the password isn't recognised. I've definitely not changed it from the default and I can still login as user/user. I suspect a member of staff is messing around changing passwords.

Is there another superuser or power user type login which will allow me to change the admin password?

I don't really want to factory reset it, as the customer is 120 mile round trip away and these are their only phones. If anything goes wrong, it will leave them without phones.

At the moment, it's looking like I might have to replace the unit, in an attempt to resolve the frequent disconnects of the handsets, but this time I'll trust nobody and set a stronger password.

I take it the admin passwords don't tend to change themselves?

Thanks, Marcus
04-28-2018 10:13 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,179
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Post: #2
RE: Locked out of admin login
(04-28-2018 10:13 AM)Blue Chilli Wrote:  Hi,

I have a customer with 3 X W52H handsets on a single W52P base unit. All phones and base unit are on the latest available firmware and these are the only phones in the building.

We have issues where handsets even 2M from the base unit, disconnect during a call and display the message "Initializing - please wait" or "searching for base".

I've rebooted the base unit but the problem still persists.

The issue I have now though, is that I can no longer login as admin/admin, the password isn't recognised. I've definitely not changed it from the default and I can still login as user/user. I suspect a member of staff is messing around changing passwords.

Is there another superuser or power user type login which will allow me to change the admin password?

I don't really want to factory reset it, as the customer is 120 mile round trip away and these are their only phones. If anything goes wrong, it will leave them without phones.

At the moment, it's looking like I might have to replace the unit, in an attempt to resolve the frequent disconnects of the handsets, but this time I'll trust nobody and set a stronger password.

I take it the admin passwords don't tend to change themselves?

Thanks, Marcus

Hi Marcus,

As far as I know the DECT base have two accounts: admin and user.
No superuser or power user account.

The only way to get back the admin password is reset the base to factory default. The downside is you will lost all settings.
After reset please use strong passwords for admin and user accounts to prevent a change by anybody who known the default password(s).
For security reasons: Please never, never, never use default passwords.

For you "Initializing - please wait" issue, please check if there are no other "transmitters" near the base station, e.g microwave, television, etc.
Do not use the ECO mode and the base must be visible (not behind sealing, wall, glass) for the handsets.

Hope this will help.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
04-29-2018 08:29 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Blue Chilli Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Locked out of admin login
Thanks for the reply.

One thing I do have is the xxxx-all.cfg file, which I created when I first set it up and still had admin access.

Logging in as "user", which I've now changed the password for, there are options to reset "local settings", "non-static settings", "static settings" and "user data and local config".

If I used one of these options, would it wipe the base unit back to the standard admin login, then letting me restore the unit from the config file?

Alternatively, can this config file be used on a new base unit to restore all settings from the old unit? I can modify the MAC address of the base unit on my VOIP platform, but don't know how the pairing to the handsets works and whether restoring a config file to another base unit would still have the old handsets paired to this new unit.
04-29-2018 08:57 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,179
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Post: #4
RE: Locked out of admin login
(04-29-2018 08:57 AM)Blue Chilli Wrote:  Thanks for the reply.

One thing I do have is the xxxx-all.cfg file, which I created when I first set it up and still had admin access.

Logging in as "user", which I've now changed the password for, there are options to reset "local settings", "non-static settings", "static settings" and "user data and local config".

If I used one of these options, would it wipe the base unit back to the standard admin login, then letting me restore the unit from the config file?

Alternatively, can this config file be used on a new base unit to restore all settings from the old unit? I can modify the MAC address of the base unit on my VOIP platform, but don't know how the pairing to the handsets works and whether restoring a config file to another base unit would still have the old handsets paired to this new unit.

Hi,

Just checked, but the <mac>-all.cfg file do not contain the admin password.

Also if you are logged in as "user" you can not have the options to reset "local settings", "non-static settings", "static settings" and "user data and local config" as shown in the screenshot.
Are you sure you are running the latest firmware (25.81.0.10) and logged in as "user"?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
(This post was last modified: 04-29-2018 04:58 PM by complex1.)
04-29-2018 04:52 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Blue Chilli Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Locked out of admin login
(04-29-2018 04:52 PM)complex1 Wrote:  Hi,

Just checked, but the <mac>-all.cfg file do not contain the admin password.

Also if you are logged in as "user" you can not have the options to reset "local settings", "non-static settings", "static settings" and "user data and local config" as shown in the screenshot.
Are you sure you are running the latest firmware (25.81.0.10) and logged in as "user"?

Hi, I see these reset options under "Upgrade", not "configuration" as in your photo.

The odd thing is, the new base unit I've bought doesn't show these options, only a reboot option when logged in as "User", but the old one does show them all, even though both are on firmware 25.81.0.10 and the same hardware version of 25.1.0.0.0.0.0

I see this on the old one when logged in as "user"..


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
05-01-2018 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,179
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Post: #6
RE: Locked out of admin login
(05-01-2018 12:22 PM)Blue Chilli Wrote:  
(04-29-2018 04:52 PM)complex1 Wrote:  Hi,

Just checked, but the <mac>-all.cfg file do not contain the admin password.

Also if you are logged in as "user" you can not have the options to reset "local settings", "non-static settings", "static settings" and "user data and local config" as shown in the screenshot.
Are you sure you are running the latest firmware (25.81.0.10) and logged in as "user"?

Hi, I see these reset options under "Upgrade", not "configuration" as in your photo.

The odd thing is, the new base unit I've bought doesn't show these options, only a reboot option when logged in as "User", but the old one does show them all, even though both are on firmware 25.81.0.10 and the same hardware version of 25.1.0.0.0.0.0

I see this on the old one when logged in as "user"..

Hi,

Yes I see your screenshot, that's very weird.
Q. After the firmware upgrade did you reset the base to factory default?
This is a rule of thumb, to prevent this kind of weird "settings".
Maybe that's why you lost the admin password.

If the base get a fixed DHCP address, it is possible for you -after the base is reset to default- to manually or auto-provision the base, because the base sticks on the same internal IP address.

Kind regards,
Frank.

I am not an employee of Yealink.
Dutch is my native language, not English. Apologies for my imperfect grammar.
Please do not send unsolicited PM messages. I will not answer them.
05-01-2018 12:44 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  W52P admin pass after recovery crodaxy 1 5,454 12-04-2018 10:16 AM
Last Post: complex1
Thumbs Up Unable to Login after provisioning thenewhomesagent 4 7,554 10-18-2018 07:52 AM
Last Post: thenewhomesagent
  cant login to web portal jasond911 2 5,156 11-10-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Lucia_Yealink
  How do you delete a SIP account in admin RobertThompson 2 5,586 11-06-2016 01:55 AM
Last Post: CWR
  I can not login Jorgemaria 2 5,827 02-09-2015 10:08 AM
Last Post: James_Yealink
  Forgot Login jhughes 1 5,229 12-30-2013 03:44 PM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication