[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
T29G Remote Phonebook no lookup for incoming call
Author Message
Chris708 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 76
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
T29G Remote Phonebook no lookup for incoming call
There is an option in the T29G GUI under Directory / Remote Phone Book, to enable "Incoming/Outgoing Call Lookup'

I have enabled this, pointed to three remote phonebooks (max is 5) and tested with my cell phone---calling a DID to an auto attendant and pressing the extension # and only see: wireless caller for the incoming call (along with my cell #).

I have three remote phonebook's set up, with one containing my cell # and my name.

I also tried calling from the phone to my cell # (testing outgoing call) and it doesn't do a lookup to the remote phonebook. It does do a lookup of my call history which of course shows "wireless caller".

I created a local phone book with my cell # and name and that does do the incoming and outgoing lookup.

I thought maybe it was an issue with firmware so I upgraded the firmware to 46.81.0.110. Still I cannot get an incoming call to do a lookup into the remote phonebook.

I have two accounts set up on the phone. Does it matter that Account 2 is the account I am using to test?
Using either account and dialing out does not use the Directory to do the lookup for my cell #.

Any ideas on how to get this to work with a remote phonebook?
07-24-2017 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Chris708 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 76
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
RE: T29G Remote Phonebook no lookup for incoming call
I don't remember my exact scenario, but someone else helped me figure this out.
The phone number has to be digits only. Anything other than digits as part of the number in the directory will not correctly do the lookup.
I had my numbers in the directory entered as follows ###-###-####
After removing the '-', the lookup worked.
(This post was last modified: 03-03-2019 02:03 PM by Chris708.)
07-16-2018 03:15 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  MP50 won't initiate a call on a Mac (Big Sur) computer? microdaft 2 4,418 05-31-2022 01:54 AM
Last Post: Christianpoulton
  T29G POE Requirement change? wonderboy1 1 1,458 04-22-2022 12:06 AM
Last Post: complex1
  MP56 - MS Teams Call Queue name not showing grahamhosking 0 1,062 04-19-2022 09:54 PM
Last Post: grahamhosking
Brick MP50 stuck after call transfer af@benenden.school 4 5,177 12-22-2021 07:24 PM
Last Post: af@benenden.school
  Cannot disable audible Park notifications during active call livehappy42 3 3,341 11-13-2021 09:11 AM
Last Post: livehappy42
  T57W Call Park Alert bcramer 1 3,908 10-29-2021 05:33 AM
Last Post: livehappy42
Sad T22P No Sound on Call Pick Up oaltinsoy853 1 3,144 10-19-2021 07:22 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T58 Call Park and Transfer Problems user42491 1 3,382 08-03-2021 09:24 PM
Last Post: complex1
  VP59 Teams issue with incoming sound btpuk 0 3,379 11-24-2020 06:57 PM
Last Post: btpuk
  T58A SCA Shared Call Appearance with Call Manager cm_y 1 5,518 11-15-2019 09:42 AM
Last Post: Jacky_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication