[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Auto answer with SIP Notify
Author Message
Santi Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Auto answer with SIP Notify
Hello,

With 7.72 firmware I can send an autoanswer SIP notify packet and it works, but with firmware T27G-69.81.0 it doesn't.

Next you can see Asterisk's sip notify configuration:

[answer-yealink]
Event=>answer=true

My lab scenario is a T22 with old firmware 7.72.0.30 autoanswering the call when I send the sip notify packet and a T27G with newest firmware T27G-69.81.0.110 not autoanswering the call.

There is something that I've to change in my configuration?

Regards,
06-26-2017 03:59 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Lucia_Yealink Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 467
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
HI Santi,

Please kindly provide the level 6 syslog, config.bin and pace trace when you reproduce the issue for me to check.
To make a comparision, please also kindly provide the three files when you use the T22P. I will do a test in my side.

Refer to the FAQ to get the three files:
http://support.yealink.com/faq/faqInfo?id=313

Besides, how many phones you have in total? How many of the issue?
06-28-2017 03:38 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Santi Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Hello,

Here they are.
I'm doing tests with a couple of T27G and a T22P. I think it depends on the firmware not the phone model. I can't test a T27G with the T22 firmware release because it's a new model and the old firmware release doesn't exist.

Regards,


(06-28-2017 03:38 AM)Lucia Wrote:  HI Santi,

Please kindly provide the level 6 syslog, config.bin and pace trace when you reproduce the issue for me to check.
To make a comparision, please also kindly provide the three files when you use the T22P. I will do a test in my side.

Refer to the FAQ to get the three files:
http://support.yealink.com/faq/faqInfo?id=313

Besides, how many phones you have in total? How many of the issue?


Attached File(s)
.zip  allconfig.zip (Size: 177.76 KB / Downloads: 1)
06-28-2017 01:51 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Lucia_Yealink Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 467
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #4
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Yes, thank you for your trace files, i will feedback to our R&D to check.
But before that, can you tell me how many T27G and T22P you have in total?
If there are any other phone model in your side? If yes, what is the model?
Please kindly share me the info above, with this, i can push our R&D to analyze this issue quickly.

Thank you.
06-29-2017 03:37 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Santi Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Hello,

I'm testing the scenario in our lab (2xT27 and 1xT22). It's not a customer deployment, but I need to know if I can use this feature or it won't work nevermore.

Regards,

(06-29-2017 03:37 AM)Lucia Wrote:  Yes, thank you for your trace files, i will feedback to our R&D to check.
But before that, can you tell me how many T27G and T22P you have in total?
If there are any other phone model in your side? If yes, what is the model?
Please kindly share me the info above, with this, i can push our R&D to analyze this issue quickly.

Thank you.
07-06-2017 03:06 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Lucia_Yealink Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 467
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #6
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Yes, it can work.
As i told you, our R&D have located the problem, and now is trying to compariable this situation. But it is still need more time to totally fix it. It will take one more week, since we will release a new firmware version for you to solve it.

Any update about the new version, i will let you know soon.

Hope you a nice day.
Lucia
07-07-2017 01:13 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Santi Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Perfect, I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,


(07-07-2017 01:13 AM)Lucia Wrote:  Yes, it can work.
As i told you, our R&D have located the problem, and now is trying to compariable this situation. But it is still need more time to totally fix it. It will take one more week, since we will release a new firmware version for you to solve it.

Any update about the new version, i will let you know soon.

Hope you a nice day.
Lucia
07-07-2017 08:24 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Lucia_Yealink Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 467
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #8
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
HI Santi,

Just release a new firmware version to solve this problem. Please download in the link below and do test:
http://ftp.yealink.com/?ShareToken=9C48F...27AB3859BA

Any question about the firmware, please let me know.
07-17-2017 07:48 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Santi Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Hello,

It works well!
Do you know when this feature will be included in the rest of firmwares? Next release maybe?

Best Regards,

(07-17-2017 07:48 AM)Lucia Wrote:  HI Santi,

Just release a new firmware version to solve this problem. Please download in the link below and do test:
http://ftp.yealink.com/?ShareToken=9C48F...27AB3859BA

Any question about the firmware, please let me know.
07-17-2017 10:29 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Lucia_Yealink Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 467
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 5
Post: #10
RE: Auto answer with SIP Notify
Dear Santi,

Yes, in the next official, we will also add it into it.

Best Regards
Lucia
07-18-2017 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question Auto off-hook mdkl 0 833 11-14-2023 07:40 PM
Last Post: mdkl
  DND via XML notify not working in T48S :-( (works on T41x) wecloudit 0 1,000 09-18-2023 08:01 AM
Last Post: wecloudit
  auto-answer & custom ringtone crashdox 6 3,747 08-12-2023 04:02 AM
Last Post: crashdox
  Auto configuration AdminKonekto 3 2,347 07-18-2023 07:37 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Stir/Shaken: How do you notify Trust level to callee ? oliv 1 1,706 06-19-2023 06:00 PM
Last Post: oliv
  WH66 Answer button / Softphone support gareth20202 2 3,348 02-15-2023 11:34 AM
Last Post: karthikrm
  MP54 Handset - Auto Dial on handset pickup/Off Hook TheGarrison 5 8,089 09-16-2022 03:04 AM
Last Post: imgibason
  Headset auto answer waiting call T43U and WH62 TravisD 3 5,482 06-21-2022 11:58 AM
Last Post: TravisD
  Is there a way to make the "calls are forwarded on no answer TO VOICEMAIL" go away? justingoldberg 1 7,392 10-14-2019 06:56 AM
Last Post: anonymous1718102097150
  Cannot post to Auto Provisioning DanH 1 5,115 10-12-2019 05:51 PM
Last Post: Babylonia

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication