New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Multiple Accounts 1 Device
Author Message
Tyler Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Multiple Accounts 1 Device
Hey Guys,

Thanks for your help on my previous question. This question is in regards to multiple users to one device (multi-account)

We have a lot of users in our support center and we have enough issues as it is, we are concerned that having the "switch account" button there they will constantly be logged in as the wrong user and causing all sorts of problems with our employee tracking. Is there a way to password protect logging into another account and prompt the password?

Right now I have the programmable key swapping between two extensions which is great and all, but we want it to be every time they switch they have to type in the password. I know there is a roundabout way where they have to go into the account settings on the phone, type admin, etc. then type in the password that way, but that's not convenient especially considering we have freepbx auto-generate our passwords.

Is there a way to prompt the user to type in a password before switching users?
06-05-2017 08:40 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 303
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
RE: Multiple Accounts 1 Device
(06-05-2017 08:40 PM)Tyler Wrote:  Hey Guys,

Thanks for your help on my previous question. This question is in regards to multiple users to one device (multi-account)

We have a lot of users in our support center and we have enough issues as it is, we are concerned that having the "switch account" button there they will constantly be logged in as the wrong user and causing all sorts of problems with our employee tracking. Is there a way to password protect logging into another account and prompt the password?

Right now I have the programmable key swapping between two extensions which is great and all, but we want it to be every time they switch they have to type in the password. I know there is a roundabout way where they have to go into the account settings on the phone, type admin, etc. then type in the password that way, but that's not convenient especially considering we have freepbx auto-generate our passwords.

Is there a way to prompt the user to type in a password before switching users?

Without requiring the user to have to enter the actual SIP password for the account I don't think Yealink has any other support for what you're trying to do. As you mentioned your options are basically to require the user to login and change the account configuration, or use the Hot Desk feature which somewhat automates the process but still requires the user to enter the login and password for the SIP account they want to use.

All that being said, you could probably roll your own solution using the XML browser and PushXML. The basic flow would be:
a) Create an XML interface based on the YealinkIPPhoneInputScreen
b) Write your own PBX-side script that would handle the response from the Input screen, do the password verification, and issue a PushXML back to the phone telling it to update it's account configuration to become the alternate extension.

Definitely technically possible, but requires you to be comfortable with scripting and database/asterisk integration.
06-12-2017 01:17 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Phonism Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Multiple Accounts 1 Device
If you're using centralized provisioning and your users rotate on a schedule, you could set auto-provision intervals and some server-side magic to switch between serving different configurations between users at given times.

- Daniel

Engineering Team @ Phonism
https://phonism.com/
(This post was last modified: 06-14-2017 02:43 PM by Phonism.)
06-14-2017 02:40 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Fraukas2 Offline
Kolibri Telecommunication
**

Posts: 35
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Multiple Accounts 1 Device
Hello,

Check if you have the "Hot Desking" service with your current VoIP provider/system. That is exactly what you need.
  • Enter the MAC addresses of the devices and enter the extension available for those MACs.
  • When the user gets to their phones, pick it up, dial a * service and system will ask for their voicemail PIN code.
  • Once entered, phone reboots and get provisionned with the right extension.
06-19-2017 06:12 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Jensen_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 98
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Multiple Accounts 1 Device
(06-05-2017 08:40 PM)Tyler Wrote:  Hey Guys,

Thanks for your help on my previous question. This question is in regards to multiple users to one device (multi-account)

We have a lot of users in our support center and we have enough issues as it is, we are concerned that having the "switch account" button there they will constantly be logged in as the wrong user and causing all sorts of problems with our employee tracking. Is there a way to password protect logging into another account and prompt the password?

Right now I have the programmable key swapping between two extensions which is great and all, but we want it to be every time they switch they have to type in the password. I know there is a roundabout way where they have to go into the account settings on the phone, type admin, etc. then type in the password that way, but that's not convenient especially considering we have freepbx auto-generate our passwords.

Is there a way to prompt the user to type in a password before switching users?

Hi Tyler,

from your describe, we don't support this only via phone side. there are several methods can support this, but they need to support on the server side, that means need to do some change on the server side.
1/ phone local hot desking: this can be the less change on the server side. make the password fixed.
2/ server side hot desking: the phone registered with one public account, dial a special number or access code, then server side response IVR, then type in account and password(this password is set up in advance). after that the phone reboot and the server side push provisioning cfg files to the phone.----done.
after you gonna to leave, it is the similar to Login. then the phone push public account to the phone.
3/ it is like above Jolouis sharing. using XML.
hope this hopes you well.
thank you.
06-22-2017 12:16 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Basic settings on device Gilb 7 4,337 05-22-2019 02:08 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  BUG - inbound hold/unhold/hangup not work via remote control for some accounts nSolvePaul 2 1,109 11-02-2018 03:10 PM
Last Post: nSolvePaul
Exclamation Yealink Device Management issues Jonathan_01023 2 1,699 06-07-2018 01:24 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  Multiple Call Forward cjmitton 9 9,918 08-31-2017 07:47 AM
Last Post: schuster.tobias
  Switch between active accounts speedy 2 4,547 06-22-2017 01:11 PM
Last Post: Fraukas2
  T23G Multiple SIP accounts on Multiple SIP Servers sjit 5 4,568 02-24-2016 05:26 AM
Last Post: RUN_Support
  Phone SIP accounts vs number of SIP trunks bell.b@harrisburgacademy.org 1 3,756 06-16-2015 12:31 AM
Last Post: engine411
  multiple phonebook, one for each client ZierzoSupp 4 4,561 03-10-2015 07:06 PM
Last Post: ZierzoSupp
  Automatic way to merge multiple Contact.xml files tsukraw 1 3,211 11-20-2014 01:48 PM
Last Post: James_Yealink
  Yealink T28P handling multiple incoming calls macbeto 7 11,003 10-27-2014 11:18 AM
Last Post: Wilson_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication