[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
Author Message
arvind.zapp Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
Hi,

Is there a way to enable yealink phone to check for firmware using provisioning url configured without manually configuring firmware.url parameter in configuration file.

For example, we just configure Server URL in Auto Provisioning section as
http://10.31.12.83:8080/prov_server

The IPPhone can use this url to get firmware file with following http request:
http://10.31.12.83:8080/prov_server/default_fw_filename
Or if we provide just "default_fw_filename" in " firmware.url" and phone could append "default_fw_filename" to Server URL for checking firmware?

I can see this kind of behavior is supported in Polycom phone.But i can not achieve the same with Yealink Phones.

Thanks,
Arvind
(This post was last modified: 04-18-2017 12:12 PM by arvind.zapp.)
04-18-2017 12:07 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
jolouis Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 339
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
Just out of curiosity what's the problem with specifying the firmware path?

I believe Yealink requires this so it knows whether to load firmware via HTTP, TFTP, etc since the first thing you specify is the protocol. I do not know of any way outside of the firmware.url param to tell the phone to check for firmware updates.
04-18-2017 03:06 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
arvind.zapp Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
Thanks,
The provisioning address is obtained via DHCP. if there is a mechanism (as i explained), it would be easier to automate the process since we do not need to change config file parameter.
Also current Yealink phone behavior(if it is as you say) is best suited when provision server and phones are in same network. Since provisioning server itself writes the firmware url in our case, it become complex when its behind SBC/Firewall/proxy.In these cases provisioning server may not be aware of FQDN used by phone to reach provisioning server so there is no way to give full url including hostname.

Instead if phone supports the feature, provisioning server could just write relative path. IP Phone would take it up and append it with provisioning server FQDN and send the request.
Relative path works best for load balancing among provisioning servers as well during firmware upgrade.
For polycom, the provisioning server FQDN obtained via DHCP is used for firmware upgrade as well. They just append default firmware file name in it.

Thats why i am looking for it.
(This post was last modified: 04-18-2017 03:56 PM by arvind.zapp.)
04-18-2017 03:54 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Michael_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 46
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
hi there

thanks so much for your report of this request , but i think we can also do it with the server side modification :

1. phone side support check new config repeatedly , so you can enable it, say make it connect the server side to check new config every day 2-4 AM

2. then every time your server side had new firmware , just update the firmware to server side and then i believe server side will update the cfg file automatically

3. every day 2-4 AM , phone connect to server side and find new cfg file , then it will download and provision to upgrade .

i believe this will be more easier now ?

let me know if any question .

TKS & BR

Michael
04-26-2017 10:11 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Asanka Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
What we do is to use a simple symlink.

For ex, for T46G, the firmware URL ends with /T46G-latest.rom. And it links the actual firmware file. When a new firmware is realeased, all we do is change the symlink to point to he new firmware.

This saves a lot of issues in managing all of our customer handsets.

AsankG
Corp VoIP
[Image: Exetel-Logo.png]
05-05-2017 01:11 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Michael_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 46
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
hi AsankG

thanks for your explanation , i have submit this request to our product team for evaluation , but i can't promise whether they will add this feature or not as i think the solution provided before is enough .

thanks again for your report .

Michael
05-05-2017 09:04 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
sfrazier Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
I am missing something here. I put the
firmware.url = tftp://admin:password@192.168.20.10/T46-28.81.0.25.rom
in the y000000000000.cfg for the T46G phones and it doesn't seem to do anything. I have tried it like:
firmware.url = tftp://192.168.20.10/T46-28.81.0.25.rom
as well and still nothing.
Can anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong? It's located in the root /tftpboot
directory.

I read the above links and didn't get anything that would work for me.

The configs all work and the phones are configured for their respective mac.cfg files. I wouldn't have to put the firmware.url = file in each of those files would I?

Thanks very much for any help.
05-08-2017 03:41 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
sfrazier Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
I tried to put this in the y000000000000.cfg for the T46G Yealinks with no success of the firmware being applied.

firmware.url = tftp://admin:password@192.168.20.10/T46-28.81.0.25.rom

Can someone let me know what I am doing wrong? Is the syntax wrong?

I tried it also:

tftp://192.168.20.10/T46-28.81.0.25.rom

It still didn't work.

Thanks for anyone's help.
05-08-2017 03:45 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
sfrazier Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
I have my
05-08-2017 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Michael_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 46
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Firmware upgrade with provisioning url(relative)
hi AsankG

may i know that how your PBX support auto provision with Yealink ? can the server support tag ?

if yes, then you can use this tag to define the newest firmware on server side

then every time your server update firmware , then it can push the newest firmware to phone side with no problem .

Broadsoft support this feature .

Michael
05-09-2017 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  MP54 Firmware guywonnacott 0 2,271 05-04-2023 05:56 PM
Last Post: guywonnacott
  T19p E2 recovery firmware Jensen 1 3,133 10-25-2022 07:33 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T27G Firmware Update Failed Infonetx 8 22,880 08-03-2020 03:16 PM
Last Post: complex1
  T19P E2 auto provision firmware. NI 1 7,864 10-08-2018 05:15 PM
Last Post: NI
  Yealink T58A Firmware runek@sildelaget.no 0 8,930 07-04-2018 01:04 PM
Last Post: runek@sildelaget.no
  VP 2009 unable to boot, safe boot or upgrade? TTCPeter 8 20,340 09-08-2017 07:10 AM
Last Post: Tdit
  [W52P+W56P] Same base station with with different handset models - Auto-provisioning Asanka 5 19,646 08-25-2017 02:21 PM
Last Post: SteveDavies
  T23G Recovery Firmware Needed tshaner 6 21,059 08-11-2017 03:30 PM
Last Post: Complete IT_Support
  Fonality Firmware STUCK david.ayers 6 19,700 07-06-2017 08:28 PM
Last Post: ninjoan
  cannot disable auto provisioning W52P - W56H Babaloo71 5 16,730 02-21-2017 06:59 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication