[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
Author Message
Abigail Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
Good day (first post).

After some difficulty, managed to connect my new T22P phone to the VOIP provider's VPN server with the phone's native OpenVPN client.

The phone currently connects to the Internet from behind a firewall (Cisco RV042 Router). Since the phone appears to also have a native IPTables firewall, I'm wondering if moving its connection on the router to the DMZ may give better performance (or would it be too dangerous).

Thank you.
04-23-2015 12:17 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
James_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,159
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
RE: Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
Hi Abigail,

Sorry, I am not professtional to firewall. Others who are good at it must have a better advise.

As a terminal device I think it's needn't to be placed in DMZ zone. The phone IP table firewall you mentioned means the feature " Accept SIP Trust Server Only"?

Regards,
James
04-23-2015 05:18 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Abigail Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
Good day and thank you, James.

Even if firewalls are not your forté, I'm sure that someone at Yealink would have an intelligent answer.

Is it perhaps included in best practices?

Thank you for your continuing courtesy and cooperation.
04-24-2015 04:41 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
complex1 Offline
3CX Adv. Cert. Engineer
*****

Posts: 1,193
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 34
Post: #4
RE: Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
Abigail Wrote:Even if firewalls are not your forté, I'm sure that someone at Yealink would have an intelligent answer.
Duh. This is in my opinion a not so nice reply. James is trying to help you.

Abigail Wrote:Since the phone appears to also have a native IPTables firewall, I'm wondering if moving its connection on the router to the DMZ may give better performance (or would it be too dangerous).
What do you think yourself? Placing a device in DMZ means it is not protected by the routers firewall. All ports are directly routed through the router to the device in DMZ. Dangerous? I do think so. Or the device must have a build-in firewall of some sort. Do your phone have one?
04-24-2015 10:08 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Abigail Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Would it be safe to assign T22P IP address to DMZ?
(04-24-2015 10:08 PM)complex1 Wrote:  
Abigail Wrote:Even if firewalls are not your forté, I'm sure that someone at Yealink would have an intelligent answer.
Duh. This is in my opinion a not so nice reply. James is trying to help you.

No offence was intended, I know that James was trying to be helpful.

Since, I believe, I asked a legitimate and (to me) important question, I was suggesting to James that, as he has done in the past, he ask a developer or someone else at Yealink with firewall knowledge.

Abigail Wrote:Since the phone appears to also have a native IPTables firewall, I'm wondering if moving its connection on the router to the DMZ may give better performance (or would it be too dangerous).
Quote:What do you think yourself? Placing a device in DMZ means it is not protected by the routers firewall. All ports are directly routed through the router to the device in DMZ. Dangerous? I do think so. Or the device must have a build-in firewall of some sort. Do your phone have one?

I'm also not a firewall expert, hence, what I think is not important -- that's why I asked the question in the first place.

Although I appreciate the fact that you are trying to help as well, I cannot decide what to do based on your guess or my guess. I would be very thankful for a definitive answer to a very simple question from someone at Yealink.

Thank you for your continuing courtesy.
(This post was last modified: 04-25-2015 05:40 PM by Abigail.)
04-25-2015 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Solved] Correct password don't work anymore in SIP-T22P ip phones frog.tech 1 3,892 01-27-2021 07:45 PM
Last Post: lsk
  T23G Unable to Obtain IP Address xBrito 6 9,068 05-21-2020 01:05 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  T23G Network unavailable obtaining ip address james king 4 14,098 12-04-2019 09:46 AM
Last Post: nn123nn
  openvpn[1205]: RESOLVE: Cannot resolve host address: myfake.dns.net:1194 rafael.catelecom 2 4,273 11-07-2019 02:24 PM
Last Post: rafael.catelecom
  T22P Action URI ATrans and BTrans not working? DaveThompson 2 8,008 09-10-2019 10:47 AM
Last Post: DaveThompson
  T22P Stuck on FW 7.60.40.7 justingoldberg 0 2,457 08-16-2019 01:19 PM
Last Post: justingoldberg
  T22P DSSKey linekey labels andcza 2 6,217 05-10-2018 06:02 AM
Last Post: andcza
  T22p does not get IP, and does not access the web interface even by manually config jason.luka 5 8,232 04-18-2018 01:29 AM
Last Post: Samuel_Yealink
  T22P -0 3CX firmware web server fails preterion 1 5,358 04-17-2018 02:35 PM
Last Post: will3
  SIP T22P Problem liamretrams 2 7,529 06-01-2017 11:22 AM
Last Post: wcolato

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication