[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
Author Message
strobesnmore Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
We are using the T28P and the ringtone keeps defaulting to a certain ring versus the one we set. Anyone experience this?
04-11-2013 08:32 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
Yes, this was happening to us via auto-provisioning. There are 2 places to set the ringtone -- Under the phone menu, which seems to set the "Default" ringtone, and the Account settings for Line specific ringtones.

We were only setting the Phone default ringtone, and sometimes saw the phone set "Ring5.wav" as the account ringtone, rather than the "common" setting that uses the default. Not sure why, but it seems to happen on about 50% of brand new phones, despite identical model\version\provisioning config.

Hope this helps!
04-16-2013 07:58 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,684
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 24
Post: #3
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
Hello,
Actually we have 6 kinds of ringtone, and the priority of these ringtone is like attached picture.
So please check whether you set the other ringtone which has higher priority.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
04-16-2013 04:39 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Bryan Nelson Offline
Member
***

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
Thanks for the clarification!
04-16-2013 11:48 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
pjetson Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
(04-16-2013 04:39 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  Hello,
Actually we have 6 kinds of ringtone, and the priority of these ringtone is like attached picture.
So please check whether you set the other ringtone which has higher priority.

Hi. This might seem like a silly question, but is 1 the highest priority, or is 6 the highest priority? I think 1 is the highest, but I'm not sure.

Thanks, Peter
09-11-2014 01:59 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink_Jim Offline
Super Moderator
******

Posts: 127
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
Hi Pjetson,
1 the highest priority.
09-12-2014 11:21 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
pjetson Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
(09-12-2014 11:21 AM)Yealink_Jim Wrote:  Hi Pjetson,
1 the highest priority.
Thanks for that. Unfortunately, it appears that with the 2.72.0.75, the various ringtone settings may be in different places.

I can't seem to find the highest priority Emergency Ringtone setting at all.

The Contacts --> Local Directory --> Contacts ringtone setting and the Contacts --> Local Directory --> Group ringtone setting both seem to be on the Directory tab now, in the Local Directory section.

The Distinctive Ringtone setting seems to be on the Account tab, in the Advanced section now.

The other two settings on the picture are more difficult to match.

Is the Account --> Basic ring tone setting now on the Settings tab, in the Ring section?

Is the Phone --> Preference ring tone setting now on the Settings tab, in the Preference section?

The reason that I'm asking these questions is that I cannot seem to get the phones to have a different ringtone for internal and external calls, and I am thinking that it might have something to do with ringtone priorities.

I have created a contacts.xml file containing all my internal users. I have assigned all users in this file to a group called "internal".

For testing purposes, in the contacts.xml file, I have set the ringtone for the "internal" group to "Ring4.wav" and the ringtone for each individual user to "Ring2.wav".

I do not understand the Settings tab, in the Ring section, so I have left the Internal Ringer Text blank and the Internal Ringer File set to Ring1.wav for all ten settings.

On the Settings tab, in the Preferences section, I have set the Ring Type to Ring3.wav

According to ringtone priority, if I understand it correctly, a call from any internal user should sound the Ring2.wav ringtone, since an individual contact setting has the highest priority.

Calls from an external line will not match anything in the contacts.xml file, so will default to Ring3.wav

Do I understand this correctly? I am having trouble getting it to work - both internal and external calls sound the same ring tone.
09-17-2014 02:09 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
pjetson Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Ringtone keep defaulting versus what we chose?
While waiting for any suggestions, I noticed that I forgot to say which ring tone was sounding for all calls - it's Ring3.wav, which is supposed to be the lowest priority.

I should also point out that everything worked just fine for at least a year, and only stopped working when I upgraded to the latest firmware Sad

Can anyone offer any help please?
09-19-2014 08:59 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  T20 web ringtone volume Diegoms 2 3,880 02-01-2018 12:59 PM
Last Post: Diegoms
  Download RingTone troosters 2 17,368 09-26-2017 08:00 AM
Last Post: Erwin
  Can't upload new Ringtone for Yealink T23P ? hoang 1 4,106 02-23-2017 09:50 AM
Last Post: Lucia_Yealink
  NAPTR Defaulting to UDP, How to set TCP marcelm 3 3,946 10-17-2016 10:39 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  Very loud ringtone Clevelander 1 6,494 10-10-2014 04:01 PM
Last Post: Yealink_Jim
  Ringtone petertran 1 6,347 05-24-2013 02:49 PM
Last Post: Yealink Support

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication