New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Opus Codec
Author Message
Vanburen Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
Opus Codec
When will Yealink support the Opus Codec?:
https://www.opus-codec.org/
11-12-2015 07:55 PM
Find all posts by this user    like2    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
James_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,159
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
RE: Opus Codec
Hello Van,

Currnelty there is no a confirmed timeline for this codec support.
May I know why do you need it?

Regards,
James
11-12-2015 11:39 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Vanburen Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
RE: Opus Codec
(11-12-2015 11:39 PM)Yealink_James Wrote:  Hello Van,

Currnelty there is no a confirmed timeline for this codec support.
May I know why do you need it?

Regards,
James

Thanks for the quick reply James.

I'm looking at moving our on-site PBX into the cloud, so using Opus will make this a lot better experience as it is:
  1. Tolerant to packet loss: As it has forward error correction
  2. Bandwidth efficient: It has better audio quality than G.729 for the same bandwidth used
  3. Royalty free: no need to pay for transcoding licenses (like G.729)

Other manufacturers are starting to adopt Opus in their phones. We currently use Yealink for all our desk phones, but we may end up having to move to a different provider.
11-13-2015 05:04 AM
Find all posts by this user    like1    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Hoenle Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Opus Codec
I'm also currently a Yealink customer and have rolled out about 300 phones. Looking at Obihai phones now because they've started supporting Opus.
(This post was last modified: 03-16-2016 08:01 AM by Hoenle.)
03-16-2016 02:37 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
syadnom Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Opus Codec
I'd love to know this too, would REALLY like to get opus on yealinks..
05-05-2016 01:32 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
dersen Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Opus Codec
+1 +1 +1 +1 +1
06-08-2016 05:55 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
syadnom Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Opus Codec
desperately need a codec like opus with PLC. The only thing we have is ilbc and it doesn't work properly with asterisk without a miracle...
06-11-2016 01:20 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
chmars Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Opus Codec
@Hoenle: Where are Obihai phones available?
06-12-2016 07:26 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
syadnom Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Opus Codec
bump x100

even if support is limited to T4x phones or something. Opus would be a high-value add.
06-14-2016 06:32 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Bad sound with Opus codec on T21 and T40 TrK 3 2,962 12-03-2018 01:09 AM
Last Post: syadnom
  Bad sound with Opus TrK 0 881 12-08-2017 10:53 AM
Last Post: TrK
  Opus Ultra Wideband and Fullband avayax 8 7,273 10-19-2017 06:33 PM
Last Post: Bogen
  Possible to show codec? givemeaccess 3 2,666 06-07-2017 11:24 AM
Last Post: Paul_Yealink
  Opus codec on T23G avayax 1 2,979 10-11-2016 02:55 PM
Last Post: Kevin_Yealink
  codec g729.. Gilb 0 1,643 07-25-2015 03:32 PM
Last Post: Gilb

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication