New Forum system requires email address which you used to apply for your account to replace your original username. Password stays the same.Please see this post for more details
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=40344

Yealink Test Club has been officially launched. Please visit post below to get detail information. Come and join us!
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/announcements.php?aid=18

We just had the YMCS online and we are also working on the features plan on the future versions, in this regard we are need to hear your voice about the YMCS.
Please visit : http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=42322


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
Author Message
LandonL Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
So I am having some trouble when setting up T26P phones to use VPN to connect to the main office PBX.

Basically, the problem arises when the phones are set to use DHCP to acquire an IP from their LAN, if the VPN is enabled the phone just continually says "Obtaining IP Address".

If I set a static IP on the phone, and enable the VPN, then everything works fine.

The problem is we have several phones we need to send to remote employees, so they just need to be able to plug them up and they will work.

The phones use the 6.73.0.50 firmware.

Is this a bug in the firmware? Where VPN only works if the phone has a static LAN IP?
11-10-2015 09:46 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
James_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,159
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
Hello,

There is no such a bug. We didn't see the issue before. If you try in another phone can it work?
Can you please send .tar file to our support mail support@yealink.com and we will test it in our side.

Regards,
James
11-11-2015 06:15 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
LandonL Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
Hi James,

tar file forwarded.

Thanks,
Landon
11-11-2015 07:58 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
LandonL Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
It has been six days since I sent in the tar file. I have not received a reply or resolution yet.

Thanks,
Landon
11-17-2015 11:12 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
LandonL Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
I think I was a little hasty thinking I solved the problem as I posted on the other thread... the problem still exists after a phone reboot.

To get it to work I no longer need to turn off/on the VPN, i can simply deactivate the SIP account, then let it get an IP, then reactive the SIP account and it will start working without a reboot.

Still this is annoying, and not something we can expect our out of office employees to constantly do with their phone.

Anyone else have any ideas?
(This post was last modified: 11-19-2015 11:04 AM by LandonL.)
11-19-2015 10:23 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
benohill Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
(11-10-2015 09:46 PM)LandonL Wrote:  So I am having some trouble when setting up T26P phones to use VPN to connect to the main office PBX.

Basically, the problem arises when the phones are set to use DHCP to acquire an IP from their LAN, if the VPN is enabled the phone just continually says "Obtaining IP Address".

If I set a static IP on the phone, and enable the VPN, then everything works fine.

The problem is we have several phones we need to send to remote employees, so they just need to be able to plug them up and they will work.

The phones use the 6.73.0.50 firmware.

Is this a bug in the firmware? Where VPN only works if the phone has a static LAN IP?

Sorry for my english. I have same problem with T20p and 73 firmware (9.73.0.50 and 9.73.193.50 too). The phone only pick up adress when i disconnect end reconnect phisically the ethernet plug. But for me the static adress doesnt help, because then the phone cannot connect to the PBX behind the VPN (only in dhcp client mode and after phisical disconnect-reconnect). The only solution for me, was the downgrade to a 72 firmware (9.72.0.80).
(This post was last modified: 11-27-2015 02:55 PM by benohill.)
11-27-2015 02:52 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
James_Yealink Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 1,159
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 8
Post: #7
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
Sorry Landon,

It seems that I didn't receive your mail.
Can you please send it again to my mail james@yealink.com

Thanks,
11-27-2015 09:57 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
kbhit Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
I was having the same trouble with my T20P. Thought I would post the solution I found...

I did find that you can boot then pull the ethernet cable and plug it back in after it's fully booted, but obviously, that's kind of insane to ask an end user to do anytime the phone reboots.

I double checked my vpn.cnf file and mine was different in one way from the manual from yealink. I had used a FQDN (register.example.com)
I decided to try it with the ip address directly and BOOM, dhcp started working again. So it would appear that having the phone attempt to find the FQDN in the vpn configuration trips it up during boot.

So ultimately it was just as simple as:

use the ip address for remote in the vpn.cnf NOT a FQDN


hopefully this helps save someone else some time
(This post was last modified: 12-22-2015 08:50 PM by kbhit.)
12-21-2015 11:14 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
ghost Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
Hello James and others,

Kbhit absolutely right!

I have many T26P, T22P, T21P. All of them has firmware version 72 and works well!
But today I decided to upgrade one SIP-T26P (because I need to disable features.show_action_uri_option, it's available only in v.73 unfortunately). So, after upgrade to 6.73.0.50 and load OpenVPN tar to the phone it has stopped get IP address from LAN DHCP server.
When I changed FQDN to IP address in vpn.cnf - dhcp started working again without turn off/ turn on ethernet cable!
But I need a domain names instead direct IP addresses in vpn.cnf.

Please, fix this bug in v.73.0.50 firmware!

Thank You!!
01-21-2016 09:16 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
pdugas Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: DHCP not working on T26P when OpenVPN is enabled.
I'm getting bit by this little nasty as well. Can't reliably switch from using a FQDN to an IP because our VPN server is on a dynamic circuit. Need a fix for this ASAP please.

Oh, I'm using a T22P running the current 7.73.0.50 firmware. Pls fix.
(This post was last modified: 02-24-2016 10:01 PM by pdugas.)
02-24-2016 09:59 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  OpenVPN and QoS/TOS roelvanmeer 0 557 02-19-2019 09:27 AM
Last Post: roelvanmeer
  OpenVPN Timeout connecting p2xt 3 1,683 07-13-2018 07:37 PM
Last Post: jolouis
  openvpn w52p setup rafael 4 7,302 08-10-2017 02:03 PM
Last Post: indicato
  can't setup openvpn with t48g zzz 8 8,178 07-18-2017 09:04 AM
Last Post: sj
  T42G dhcp issue Neway 1 2,332 06-15-2017 03:01 AM
Last Post: Karl_Yealink
  T46G Hostname not registering on DHCP fraukas 2 5,353 10-27-2016 12:34 AM
Last Post: fraukas
Sad T41P BLF ligth not working goHelpDesk.com 2 3,225 10-15-2016 02:10 AM
Last Post: ModCraig
  OpenVPN in T27P arcsistemes 1 2,466 07-13-2016 04:50 PM
Last Post: Klaus_Yealink
  Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P CarpeDiemTim 17 28,681 07-01-2016 02:30 PM
Last Post: milenabraham
  T21P : no audio when connect via openvpn kohan 2 3,164 04-16-2016 12:43 AM
Last Post: kohan

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication