[YMCS/YDMP Free Trial Program]Yealink would like to offer Free Trial Program of Yealink device management service for our current eligible customers. You can see the details below.
https://www.yealink.com/ydmp-freetrial-2020


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yealink All Models DHCPv6 DUID
Author Message
GeorgSchwarz Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 28
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Yealink All Models DHCPv6 DUID
Hi everyone!
Sorry for posting so many things during the last weeks, but we are currently doing a major update.

One of out taks is to get our whole HostedPBX-System ready for IPv6 deployment. First thing I have to say: Kudos to Yealink, you are far ahead af some other manufacturers, my first IPv6 test just worked like a charm! All telephony-related- features were tested successfully on IPv6 within a half days work.

So, now we're in the phase adding DHCPv6 stateful autoconfig to our system. As I cannot make reservervations based on MACs in DHCPv6 any more, I wanted to ask how your phones generate their dhcp6c_duid value.

Is it completetly random, or can we somehow calculate this value based on the MAC, so that we can ensure that we can successfully assign a defined IPv6 to every phone we provision?

Thanks in advance
Best from Austria,
George
12-30-2013 08:01 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Yealink Support Offline
Administrator
*******

Posts: 2,683
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 25
Post: #2
RE: Yealink All Models DHCPv6 DUID
Hi GeorgSchwarz,

I have submitted your question to the corresponding person.
If i get the feedback from him, i will update for you.
12-30-2013 11:24 AM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
GeorgSchwarz Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 28
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Yealink All Models DHCPv6 DUID
Hi!

For those who are concerned:

Yealink phones generate their DHCP DUID based on very first boot-up-time + MAC address.
However with ISC DHCP (the one we are using) you can make a MAC-based reservation as the phone reports the Time+MAC style to the DHCP server and the server subsequently allows reserving using the MAC-address:

<snip>

host 0315232251018 {
hardware ethernet 00:15:65:4a:9f:b3;
fixed-address6 2001:db8:c::215:65ff:fe4a:9fb3;
}

</snip>
(This post was last modified: 02-10-2014 07:53 PM by GeorgSchwarz.)
02-10-2014 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user    like0    dislike0 Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Yealink T28 setup audible ring on 2nd incoming call JeffWilkinson 20 88,104 10-18-2023 12:59 PM
Last Post: sles
  keypad sequence for Forward & DND with Yealink W70B Base kargah 0 1,365 04-18-2023 10:07 PM
Last Post: kargah
  Yealink T27P -Incoming call issue rsarceno 0 1,391 01-25-2023 08:54 AM
Last Post: rsarceno
  Yealink T19 can not automatically hangup inbound calls giaopc94 0 1,812 08-01-2022 09:28 AM
Last Post: giaopc94
Question 3CX / Yealink passthrough VLAN issue (when phone is rebooted) maindriver 4 12,017 03-24-2022 10:25 PM
Last Post: maindriver
  Configuring OPENVPN with Yealink Commensus 0 2,632 02-23-2022 09:45 PM
Last Post: Commensus
  Yealink C920 password issue DaveK 3 12,078 09-11-2020 12:02 PM
Last Post: complex1
  Modern Yealink Phonebook Generation Tool rgranholm 2 11,041 04-30-2020 09:03 PM
Last Post: rgranholm
  Multicast / Paging / Intercom - Yealink T58 Ryandh 20 63,513 04-30-2020 03:23 PM
Last Post: Chris708
  Remote PhoneBook format for several models aralmeida 2 7,883 10-01-2019 04:20 PM
Last Post: aralmeida

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us   Yealink   Return to Top   Return to Content   Lite (Archive) Mode   RSS Syndication