Yealink Forums
Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Phone specific topic (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+---- Forum: T2xP Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+---- Thread: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" (/showthread.php?tid=775)

Pages: 1 2 3


Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - antoniy - 09-17-2013 02:09 PM

Hello,

I use Action URI technology to management T22P, T26P phones. I add the address of my server in the "Trusted Action URI Server List" from the web interface. After that, in first usage of Action URI on the new phone, I receive the message on the phone: "Allow Remote Control?".

[attachment=282]

In my case, I have approximately 700 phones in different locations and It is hard to push "OK" button on each phone.

Is there way to auto-accept remote control on the phone?

Thanks,
Anton


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - Yealink Support - 09-17-2013 02:18 PM

Hi Anton,
Sorry because we want to enhance the security of the phone, it requires end user to allow to be remote controlled.
But this message will appear only once(the first time), next time when you use action URI, it will not display this message, it will take effect automatically.
Thanks.


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - briankelly63 - 09-17-2013 10:34 PM

This is an unworkable level of security as it stands. There should be a setting within the global provisioning file that can override the need for this confirmation. Since the phones are not owned by the users and the server holding the config files is consider the "authority" the server should have ultimate control.

Most users presented with such a confirmation message would answer no! It is inappropriate for corporate IT to have to send an email (which they won't read) to 700 users!

It's admirable the Yealink is concerned with security issues but this takes it a little too far.


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - kg4ysy - 09-23-2013 10:01 PM

I would agree with briankelly63. There are many things in the provision files such as passwords, certificates, etc which are there because I allow the trust between the phones and my provision server. I would like to be able to remote control these phones, especially to force a reprovision, but I have to touch each phone anyway. I would definitely like to be able to remote control them without this extra bit of work.


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - jcvh - 04-08-2014 04:13 AM

Same here, we used to use this feature as a troubleshooting tool, as for wrong dialing (you know, people not always dial as it is suposed to do, but as they used to do somewhere else), as for other issues where a test call would be useful.
To be able to do so without having to ask the user is pretty handy, like when the user is busy or unavailable (or just don´t care to help), or to check works made overnight, especially when the phones are in many different premises.

I´m glad that yealink is concerned about security too, but i think you guys could come up with some scheme to keep this secure, but available as an advanced tool or something like that.

Regards!


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - jcvh - 04-17-2014 05:38 AM

BUMP!


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - sunstatetech - 04-25-2014 07:32 AM

(04-17-2014 05:38 AM)jcvh Wrote:  BUMP!

I just ran into this after an upgrade to 3CX v12. I agree with everybody else that it is kind of ridiculous that there is no way to override the Allow/Block prompt in the config file.


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - Yealink Support - 04-26-2014 10:27 AM

Please ask your distributor for special technical support about below setting.

Change below syntax in config.bin that you can allow to disable the prompt in the LCD.

--------------------------------
ActionURIShowMsgBox = 0

--------------------------------


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - jcvh - 05-01-2014 07:11 AM

Hello, greetings!
If i don't misunderstand, if we download a .bin backup file of the phone, edit that line
ActionURIShowMsgBox = 1
=>
ActionURIShowMsgBox = 0

then the phone will act as if the user would have given permission for the remote control. Is that it?

If so, albeit useful, it is a little awkward to implement, specially if you have many phones, since this procedure can be done only one-by-one.
Is there any chance that you could incude a line for this in the auto-provisioning files, in a future edition of the firmware?

Regards!


RE: Auto accept for "Allow Remote Control" - ModCraig - 05-01-2014 09:13 AM

Did you try this in an auto provision script?