Yealink Forums
W52P Can't Config - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: General topics (/forumdisplay.php?fid=15)
+--- Thread: W52P Can't Config (/showthread.php?tid=632)



W52P Can't Config - soapee01 - 07-15-2013 04:14 AM

Hi,

I have several issues with this phone.
1: The phone believes it is registered, but it is not staying registered (re-registering).

2: Whenever I try and make changes to the configuration, it tells me Talking, Please save config later. The phone is currently unused (even the status page shows this, and on the charger). The only way to fix is to power cycle the handset and the base. The phone is remote (VPN access), and I can't reboot it either via the GUI (talking, save config later).

3: It is unable to make calls sometimes even though it's registered fine.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? I'm thinking I should just return it and get the panasonic or the snom instead.

Thanks


RE: W52P Can't Config - briankelly63 - 07-15-2013 06:19 AM

Please describe your VPN set up as there is a lot going on behind the scenes that could effect operation. Does it work ok when not on the VPN?


RE: W52P Can't Config - soapee01 - 07-15-2013 07:32 AM

Sorry. I should have been more specific. I have vpn access to the phone via openvpn on a tomato router (remote network). It's a standard config, nothing special. Nat keepalive set to 30s, registration at 3600. Trying to adjust that down to 60s to see if it will resolve the issue but I can't change the config.

Aside: I gave up on openvpn on the t26p since it crashed every couple days or so.

Server is FreeSWITCH, but that isn't the issue. This server works fine with lots of different devices (polycom, yealink, cisco, grandestream, snom, etc). There's something wrong in the firmware on the W52P I believe.


RE: W52P Can't Config - briankelly63 - 07-15-2013 07:48 AM

Do you get this same behavior if you don't use a VPN connection?

I believe you can export the phone log file to either a compressed file or better yet you can watch the log in real time with a syslog type server like:

http://www.sysrose.com/

Its important to find out what its doing when it becomes unresponsive. That info will enable the support group to isolate the problem(s)..

VPN is general is not easy to set up because behind the scenes the phone and the openvpn server have their quirks depending what they are running on. Unfortunately because it works on one device doesn't mean you won't have an issues on another.


RE: W52P Can't Config - soapee01 - 07-15-2013 08:33 AM

There is not a vpn connection in any way from the phone to the server. The vpn connection exists so that I can reach the phone for configuration purposes only. It's not the issue.

I'm familiar with syslog servers, but no extra equipment at this location to really add one. WRT54GL, so no space there either. Was hoping somebody might have seen this behavior before. I'm not particularly interested in debugging this. It's the only one I have in the field, so it's probably just easier to return it and replace it with another dect phone that works.


RE: W52P Can't Config - briankelly63 - 07-15-2013 10:20 AM

You may be right... That syslog server application that can be downloaded from the link I gave you can just be run on a laptop and then you point the w529 to the ip address of the laptop. All the phones activities will show up on the screen of the laptop.

A detailed SIP trace on the server CLI will also help you find out whats going on. Sometimes a given brand of phone operates with certain timings and default behaviors compared with other that cause problems with the server. The re-registration is usually related to the state table of the router. Often it is suggested the that "Qualify" be set on the extension involved to help keep the router state tables open for a given connection.

Good luck..


RE: W52P Can't Config - soapee01 - 07-15-2013 10:32 AM

Yeah, that's my problem. phone is 300 miles away, and the only pc (laptop) there is 10 years old and unreliable. tftpd is also a pretty good windows syslog server. http://tftpd32.jounin.net/ I've also had very good luck with the tomato (shibby mod) flashed routers (better than any stock f/w I've used, and dd-wrt) fwiw. PFSense and Untangle are also good once nat-helpers are disabled.

Just mostly curious why I'm getting the Talking, Please save config later problem. This makes it impossible to tweak without the client rebooting both phone units, which they find uber annoying (that and the inability to make or take calls). I don't see sip debugging helping much there, but maybe Yealink started adding more phone hw/fw debug into their syslog. That wasn't what I experienced on the T26P...

Thanks for the advice. I'll wait a bit and see if anybody else can chime in on the 'Talking' issue. If that gets resolved, I think adjusting the registration period may help sort the other issues out. It's a nice phone, and I'd like to start deploying it. It's gotta work though...

Thanks briankelly63.


RE: W52P Can't Config - Yealink Support - 07-15-2013 02:45 PM

Hi Soapee,
What's the firmware are you using?
Our previous firmware have this "Talking" issue, this is a known issue, sorry.
So please upgrade to our latest firmware and try again:
ftp://yealinkftp:yealinkftp@ftp.yealink.com/00.Firmwares/W52/25.30.0.29.rom

BTW, could you post W52P issue to our W52P module? :
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=23
And in here, maybe you can find the similar issue as you met.
Thank.s


RE: W52P Can't Config - soapee01 - 07-15-2013 10:24 PM

(07-15-2013 02:45 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  Hi Soapee,
What's the firmware are you using?
Our previous firmware have this "Talking" issue, this is a known issue, sorry.
So please upgrade to our latest firmware and try again:
ftp://yealinkftp:yealinkftp@ftp.yealink.com/00.Firmwares/W52/25.30.0.29.rom
Code:
    Firmware Version     25.30.0.20
    Hardware Version     25.0.0.0.0.0.0

I looked on the main website first for a firmware upgrade. Can you update the page to show that there's a new firmware option available? It already appeared I was running the latest version. I'll definitely try this. Thanks!
http://www.yealink.com/SupportDownloadfiles_detail.aspx?ProductsID=534&CateID=308&flag=142

[Image: vpu68y.png]


(07-15-2013 02:45 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  BTW, could you post W52P issue to our W52P module? :
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=23
And in here, maybe you can find the similar issue as you met.
Thank.s


Sorry, I missed the subforum and went looking under Phone Specific Topics (http://forum.yealink.com:81/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12) and completely missed the correct forum.


RE: W52P Can't Config - Yealink Support - 07-16-2013 03:06 PM

Hi Soapee,
Because we will release new firmware soon, now is still make firmware optimization.
It means we still not release new firmware now, so the firmware in the website is still the previous one.
We will release new firmware soon, thanks.