Yealink Forums
T46S-Vonage Overwriting Remote Directory - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: T4x Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=31)
+--- Thread: T46S-Vonage Overwriting Remote Directory (/showthread.php?tid=45409)



T46S-Vonage Overwriting Remote Directory - igendreau - 09-28-2021 11:32 PM

We have T46S phones with Vonage. I created an XML file that's on a local server. I set the Remote Phone Book to point to that XML file. Then, in the Directory Settings, I only have Remote Phone Book enabled. So everyone is pointing to the same directory, and I can easily edit it once, create nice little department groups, etc...

The problem is, every so often, something between Yealink and Vonage is overwriting that setting. I'll have a user complain after weeks or months that their directory is wrong. I'll go in, and sure enough, the Remote URL in Remote Phone Book is something starting with http://prov.vonage.com... etc...

What I'd like to know is, is there some combo of settings I can pick so that once I set the value on this field, it doesn't change? Vonage was pretty useless in helping with this, and claims there is nothing on their end that they can change to stop this.

The directory it changes to when it points to Vonage is correct and up to date. But it has no grouping, so it's a giant list of names. Much prefer my custom XML. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!


RE: T46S-Vonage Overwriting Remote Directory - complex1 - 09-29-2021 03:30 AM

(09-28-2021 11:32 PM)igendreau Wrote:  We have T46S phones with Vonage. I created an XML file that's on a local server. I set the Remote Phone Book to point to that XML file. Then, in the Directory Settings, I only have Remote Phone Book enabled. So everyone is pointing to the same directory, and I can easily edit it once, create nice little department groups, etc...

The problem is, every so often, something between Yealink and Vonage is overwriting that setting. I'll have a user complain after weeks or months that their directory is wrong. I'll go in, and sure enough, the Remote URL in Remote Phone Book is something starting with http://prov.vonage.com... etc...

What I'd like to know is, is there some combo of settings I can pick so that once I set the value on this field, it doesn't change? Vonage was pretty useless in helping with this, and claims there is nothing on their end that they can change to stop this.

The directory it changes to when it points to Vonage is correct and up to date. But it has no grouping, so it's a giant list of names. Much prefer my custom XML. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

Hi,

This one is difficult to fix because it happens every now and then.
I assume auto-provisioning is enabled on this phone. If so, make sure all settings are as you want and then temporarily remove the provisioning link in Settings > Auto Provision > Server URL.
Now wait for the problem to occur.
If this doesn't happen, you can conclude that Vonage automatically provision your phone on a temporary basis and overwrite the remote phonebook URL.
Contact Vonage about this, for you, undesired behavior.