Yealink Forums
T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: T4x Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=31)
+--- Thread: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle (/showthread.php?tid=40790)



T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - noel_leahy - 04-18-2017 04:21 AM

Hi all - running a T48G with S4B firmware 35.8.0.70
Just received a WF40 dongle, have factory reset and no Ethernet cable is plugged in.
After plugging in the WF40 after reboot was completed, not getting any prompt for connecting to a Wi-Fi network.

Thanks in advance

Noel


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - ModCraig - 04-18-2017 06:22 PM

have you followed this troubleshooting steps?
http://yealink.com/Yealink_WiFi_USB_Dongle_WF40_User_Guide-11462630046.pdf


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - noel_leahy - 04-18-2017 11:23 PM

Hi Craig, yes I have - also confirmed that the dongle is ok when plugging into PC
My assumption is that the WF40 is not being seen with the S4B firmware.
Can anybody confirm that they have T48G with S4B firmware connected via the WF40?

Thanks in advance

Noel


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - Andrew_Yealink - 04-24-2017 02:08 PM

Hello,
This is Andrew from Yealink Technical Support Team, nice to work with you.

I’m sorry that the SFB firmware can’t support the wifi feature, and there is no option for wifi in the firmware.

Any question, please let me know.
Best Regards,
Andrew


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - Rance - 03-16-2018 02:32 PM

Old thread but has this been resolved/updated yet? We are switching to SFB and have T46G's. I need the wifi to work on a few of them. If not, does Yealink make other phones that will work with SFB over wifi?


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - BurdensIT - 07-16-2019 04:20 AM

having the same issue on a t41s. Any updates?


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - Babylonia - 07-22-2019 08:37 PM

(07-16-2019 04:20 AM)BurdensIT Wrote:  having the same issue on a t41s. Any updates?

I am using T41S, but no problem using the WF40 WiFi dongle. EDIT: WF50 WiFi dongle

1.
Be sure to use latest firmware of T41S - by connection of normal ethernet cable.
Link to T41S download web-page and take T46S(T48S,T42S,T41S)-66.84.0.15.rom

2.
In my case, because I am using some strange characters for WiFi password,
that are difficult to choose by the buttons of the phone itself.
It was more easy to go to the web based interface (still T41S by ethernet connection).

Fill in the WiFi credentials here.
You can ad to five WiFi SSID's.
(Personal data covered).

[Image: WiFi_set_01b.png]

Afterwards unplug power of T41S - unplug network cable - plug in WF40 dongle. EDIT: WF50 WiFi dongle
Power up again the T41S.

If it doesn't already connect automatically by WiFi.
See screen and choose "Menu" from T41S, and go to WiFi to "pair".

WiFi dongle do have another MAC-adres, and by that do get another IP-address than by ethernet.
Search for extra device within your router, and set-up a fixed IP-address for the WiFi.

Hope this helps.


RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - BurdensIT - 07-23-2019 04:49 AM

Thanks, but that firmware is not for Skype for Business. It won't work with office 365

(07-22-2019 08:37 PM)Babylonia Wrote:  
(07-16-2019 04:20 AM)BurdensIT Wrote:  having the same issue on a t41s. Any updates?

I am using T41S, but no problem using the WF40 WiFi dongle.

1.
Be sure to use latest firmware of T41S - by connection of normal ethernet cable.
Link to T41S download web-page and take T46S(T48S,T42S,T41S)-66.84.0.15.rom

2.
In my case, because I am using some strange characters for WiFi password,
that are difficult to choose by the buttons of the phone itself.
It was more easy to go to the web based interface (still T41S by ethernet connection).

Fill in the WiFi credentials here.
You can ad to five WiFi SSID's.
(Personal data covered).

[Image: WiFi_set_01b.png]

Afterwards unplug power of T41S - unplug network cable - plug in WF40 dongle.
Power up again the T41S.

If it doesn't already connect automatically by WiFi.
See screen and choose "Menu" from T41S, and go to WiFi to "pair".

WiFi dongle do have another MAC-adres, and by that do get another IP-address than by ethernet.
Search for extra device within your router, and set-up a fixed IP-address for the WiFi.

Hope this helps.



RE: T48G S4B firmware and WF40 wifi dongle - Babylonia - 07-23-2019 06:04 AM

(07-23-2019 04:49 AM)BurdensIT Wrote:  Thanks, but that firmware is not for Skype for Business. It won't work with office 365

You didn't tell, you had a TS41S model "Skype for business" before.
And what about using the last firmware for "that" model ??

The last firmware version is available from 15 June 2019, 66.9.0.80
Reading the release notes (PDF), the previous version, 66.9.0.78 do support WF50 dongle.

Addition:
Have to apologise as this subject is about the older WF40 dongle, but I am using the newer dual band WiFi WF50 dongle.
The more early messages above with detailed explanation + screenshot is by using the WiFi WF50 dongle. (I made a correction within that message).
But if firmware is compatible with the more new WF50, at least I guess there should be no problem using the older model WF40 to.