Yealink Forums
Add support for the OPUS codec - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Wishlist (/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Add support for the OPUS codec (/showthread.php?tid=29650)

Pages: 1 2


Add support for the OPUS codec - lukeescude - 10-08-2016 09:57 PM

Grandstream, Polycom, Cisco, etc. have all begun adding Opus 48k support to their product lines.

Would it be possible for Yealink to consider doing this? Specifically for the T48g and T41p... And basically every other model.

OPUS provides superior voice quality to any codec out there, even under low network quality conditions.


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - avayablix - 10-11-2016 01:20 AM

I would absolutely encourage Yealink to add Opus support on all of their phones.
Asterisk 13 will be supporting it in a few weeks and other VoIP phone manufacturers like Digium and Obihai are already jumping on the bandwagon.
http://blogs.digium.com/2016/09/30/opus-in-asterisk/


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - lukeescude - 10-11-2016 09:01 AM

It's exciting!

We've actually moved a couple of our customers to 14.0.2, and since we sell mostly Grandstream, they are getting to utilize the power of OPUS in production.


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - Kevin_Yealink - 10-11-2016 03:13 PM

(10-11-2016 01:20 AM)avayablix Wrote:  I would absolutely encourage Yealink to add Opus support on all of their phones.
Asterisk 13 will be supporting it in a few weeks and other VoIP phone manufacturers like Digium and Obihai are already jumping on the bandwagon.
http://blogs.digium.com/2016/09/30/opus-in-asterisk/

Hi ALL

This is Kevin from Yealink support team, nice to know you.

We will support opus on the standard V81 of SIP-T40P/T23P/T23G/T2
1(P) E2/T19(P) E2.

BR
Kevin


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - lukeescude - 10-11-2016 09:43 PM

Any chance of supporting it on the T48 and T41? We have about 500 of each deployed.


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - siny - 10-31-2016 11:05 AM

(10-11-2016 03:13 PM)Yealink_kevin Wrote:  
(10-11-2016 01:20 AM)avayablix Wrote:  I would absolutely encourage Yealink to add Opus support on all of their phones.
Asterisk 13 will be supporting it in a few weeks and other VoIP phone manufacturers like Digium and Obihai are already jumping on the bandwagon.
http://blogs.digium.com/2016/09/30/opus-in-asterisk/

Hi ALL

This is Kevin from Yealink support team, nice to know you.

We will support opus on the standard V81 of SIP-T40P/T23P/T23G/T2
1(P) E2/T19(P) E2.

BR
Kevin

And how about T48G and T27P?

I have just upgraded my T48G to v81 and see no signs of opus Sad

Edit: just looked at the release notes, no mention of T48G and T27P... any hope for me? Please ...


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - lukeescude - 10-31-2016 03:15 PM

Grandstream was able to add Opus to all of their previous models, so I know it can be done via a Firmware update.

However, the handset's processor has to be able to encode/decode Opus. If Yealink used lower quality processors, then there would be no way for a firmware update to enable the use of Opus.


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - paulk - 12-05-2016 08:12 PM

Hello!

Just checking on any potential Opus functionality that should be expected for the T46G. It's nice to see that the codec is able to be added on to many of the existing phone models, but I haven't seen the T46G get the feature as of yet.

Thanks!


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - jackal - 12-12-2016 10:00 PM

If the processor can handle it, would love to see on the W52P as well! I have it working on our Bria softphones and it's spectacular (even better than G.722). Would love to have end-to-end OPUS on all our devices!


RE: Add support for the OPUS codec - Kamik - 04-25-2017 01:58 PM

No chance for OPUS in T48G phones?