Yealink Forums
PoE not working but AC power works - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: CP860 (/forumdisplay.php?fid=43)
+--- Thread: PoE not working but AC power works (/showthread.php?tid=19419)



PoE not working but AC power works - Chris708 - 07-30-2016 01:08 AM

I sent an email to support@yealink.com earlier today but haven't heard back yet so am posting the message here.

Hi, we recently purchased three CP860 conference phones.

One is having an issue where it will not power up over PoE. We have it connected via an AC power adapter and it works fine.

Our current steps to troubleshooting have been:
1. Connect Cp860 to different wall jack connected to PoE – Same problem
2. Connect CP860 directly to different PoE port in PoE switch – Same problem

Please let me know what we can do to fix / replace the phone.


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - CWR - 08-06-2016 02:47 AM

Is the POE port supplying the proper voltage?
Some POE devices are not class 4 (high power) which the conference phone might require.
Just a thought. My Grandstream GAC Conference Phones need more power than some switches output.


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - Chris708 - 08-12-2016 03:50 AM

(08-06-2016 02:47 AM)craigreilly Wrote:  Is the POE port supplying the proper voltage?
Some POE devices are not class 4 (high power) which the conference phone might require.
Just a thought. My Grandstream GAC Conference Phones need more power than some switches output.

The switch is an HP2920 and supplies up to class 3, PoE+, 802.3af and 802.3at, the CP860 is class 0 so more than enough power. Also, as I mentioned, we have other CP860’s that are plugged into the same switch and are working fine.


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - CWR - 08-16-2016 06:00 AM

I would get it RMA'd if 1 out of 3 are not working.


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - Chris708 - 08-16-2016 09:35 PM

I wasn't sure if the Forums was an alternative/addition to Yealink support. That is why I posted here as well but it looks like these are community help...no Yealink official support, at least regarding returns...Yes?
Anyway, I just have to jump through the right hoops to get to that point...one of which is Yealink Support rather than the company we purchased from.
Thanks


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - CWR - 08-17-2016 02:20 AM

If the reseller is not RMAing them then thy are not an authorized reseller.
Sorry for the bad experience.

You are right - for the most part - this is community based - with an occasional visit from a Support Rep.


RE: PoE not working but AC power works - Chris708 - 08-17-2016 03:32 AM

(08-17-2016 02:20 AM)craigreilly Wrote:  If the reseller is not RMAing them then thy are not an authorized reseller.
Sorry for the bad experience.

You are right - for the most part - this is community based - with an occasional visit from a Support Rep.

I think the reseller just doesn't do technical support...they are using Yealink for support but the reseller will do the RMA.

Not really a bad experience, just different/odd and things will get smoother once I have done it a couple times.