Yealink Forums
Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - Printable Version

+- Yealink Forums (http://forum.yealink.com/forum)
+-- Forum: IP Phone Series (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Configuration (/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Thread: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P (/showthread.php?tid=1512)

Pages: 1 2


Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - CarpeDiemTim - 04-01-2014 11:05 PM

Hey Gang!

I've got a really basic problem that I'm sure other people must've come across, so I'd appreciate any helpful any advice you may have to offer.

All I want to do is enable Call Waiting for our receptionist. We're running 3CX, and her phone is a Yealink T26P.

I've checked the box on that extension in the 3CX admin panel for 'I want to be able to accept more than 1 call at the same time - uses Phone Status', so I'm assuming the issue is on the phone itself.

And basically, it just doesn't work, even though I have it enabled on the phone (Web view [firmware: 6.71.0.168] >> Features >> General Information >> Call Waiting: Enabled). If a call comes in while she's on the phone, the second calls goes to voicemail without any sort of beeping, flashing, or ringing on her phone.

Does anyone know why this might be or how I can go about enabling this simple feature?

Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated! Big Grin


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - Yealink Support - 04-02-2014 08:07 PM

Can you upgrade your phone to other 3CX version?
6.71.0.177.rom
Do you reset to factory and test again?


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - CarpeDiemTim - 04-02-2014 09:19 PM

Hey there! Thanks for your response.

I'm actually already at 6.71.0.178. Are you suggesting I move back a version?

EDIT: Sorry, I just noticed I had a typo when I mentioned the version above, so it looked like I was saying 6.71.0.168 instead of 6.71.0.178.

Also, is there a way to save the current configuration and then re-load it after the firmware change? I spent a lot of time programming the three daisy-chained EXT 39s that are attached to it, and I'd like to avoid having to do that again, if possible.

I know you can download a configuration file, but I'm not sure if that includes preferences and whatnot as opposed to SIP registration information.


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - Yealink Support - 04-02-2014 10:14 PM

You don't need to downgrade your firmware. You can export your config.bin and import it after upgraded successfully. I test in my side and call waiting can work well.
Do you other phone have the same issue?
Does your PBX enable call waiting?


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - CarpeDiemTim - 04-02-2014 11:44 PM

Interestingly, per your suggestion, I tried another T26P that we have in the building, and call waiting is working just fine, although that phone in particular is running 6.71.0.141.

So is your suggestion that I should simply re-install the current firmware on the phone that's having the issues?


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - ModCraig - 04-03-2014 12:00 AM

Carpe - can you take the other phone and give it to the receptionist... That will atleast get her running with no more fiddling. Smile


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - CarpeDiemTim - 04-03-2014 12:34 AM

(04-02-2014 10:14 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  You don't need to downgrade your firmware. You can export your config.bin and import it after upgraded successfully. I test in my side and call waiting can work well.
Do you other phone have the same issue?
Does your PBX enable call waiting?

I assigned Line 1 to all three of the line buttons and tested again, but to no avail, I'm afraid. So my only thought at this point would be to downgrade the dysfunctional phone to the same version of firmware that's working on the other T26P, unless you have any further suggestions, of course.

EDIT: I might also add that this wasn't necessary on the other T26P that has functioning call waiting as it stands now.


(04-03-2014 12:00 AM)craigreilly Wrote:  Carpe - can you take the other phone and give it to the receptionist... That will atleast get her running with no more fiddling. Smile

I definitely appreciate the suggestion, but they're basically both receptionists, which is why we got them the T26Ps (so that they can daisy-chain all the extra buttons, which our Cisco phones don't have the capability of doing). So it's a good thought, but I'm afraid it wouldn't really help in this case, as both phones need this feature working.


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - ModCraig - 04-03-2014 04:17 AM

of course... worth a try.
I would downgrade atleast for now... and if possible, always have a spare phone around for instances like this.

(04-02-2014 10:14 PM)Yealink Support Wrote:  Does your PBX enable call waiting?

Per the OP:
Quote:I've checked the box on that extension in the 3CX admin panel for 'I want to be able to accept more than 1 call at the same time - uses Phone Status', so I'm assuming the issue is on the phone itself.



RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - CarpeDiemTim - 04-03-2014 05:00 AM

Well, the good news is that the downgrade fixed the issue, but the bad news (sortof) is that apparently means I can't ever upgrade the firmware on her phone.

In particular, I was looking forward to the functionality that I believe is supposed to be included in the next release that would allow her to program a 'Direct to voicemail' button prefix/prepend button. In other words, she could press this button and then a BLF button to choose which users' voicemail to direct the call to. As it stands now, I've programmed the second page of her EXT39s with the switch button labeled "Voicemail" and just tacked on *4 to every extension that was on the first page. So as it stands now, she presses Tran+Voicemail (switch)+the user's voicemail button (*4xxx), then Tran again or just hang up, and it'd be nice if we cold cut that down to just 'direct to voicemail' + user's extension button.

Any advice on how I might be able to accomplish that if the newer firmware appears to be having issues with call waiting?


RE: Enabling Call Waiting on Yealink T26P - ModCraig - 04-03-2014 06:34 AM

If the new firmware is still having issues, then I say get the PCAP and Syslog files and submit to them.
http://forum.yealink.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=1319

While they are researching you may have to downgrade again.... or, save the headache and buy a new phone... not that expensive are they? I haven't bought the 26 in a while.