Yealink Forums

Full Version: IP Phone sometimes does not receive calls from my own mobile phone.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I own the IP Phone W60P W56H W60B.Only one handset and one sip.I use it as a private phone.It receives incoming calls without a problem however, it is a hit and miss affair when I am out and want to phone the handset with my mobile phone.The mobile phone rings the home number but the Yealink phone is dead.No ring tone ,nothing at all, not even a missed call message.I can call my mobile phone with the Yealink phone without problem.It has received calls from other mobile phones and landlines without problem.I have noticed if I switch off the base and turn it back on the handset will ring when I place a call from my mobile phone.There have been times when I've tested the handset by placing a number of mobile phone calls to it, spaced a few minutes apart.The handset manages to receive 3 or 4 calls and then say, on the 5 attempt, the handset will not ring.I don't understand the intermittent nature of the phone being able to receive a call from my mobile in one moment and then, unable to do so in the next?
Any help would be be appreciated.The phone is critical because I'm a carer for my elderly mother.
(05-25-2020 03:15 AM)willywonka Wrote: [ -> ]I own the IP Phone W60P W56H W60B.Only one handset and one sip.I use it as a private phone.It receives incoming calls without a problem however, it is a hit and miss affair when I am out and want to phone the handset with my mobile phone.The mobile phone rings the home number but the Yealink phone is dead.No ring tone ,nothing at all, not even a missed call message.I can call my mobile phone with the Yealink phone without problem.It has received calls from other mobile phones and landlines without problem.I have noticed if I switch off the base and turn it back on the handset will ring when I place a call from my mobile phone.There have been times when I've tested the handset by placing a number of mobile phone calls to it, spaced a few minutes apart.The handset manages to receive 3 or 4 calls and then say, on the 5 attempt, the handset will not ring.I don't understand the intermittent nature of the phone being able to receive a call from my mobile in one moment and then, unable to do so in the next?
Any help would be be appreciated.The phone is critical because I'm a carer for my elderly mother.

Hi,

This is because the router closes its ports over time to exclude unauthorized requests.
Ports can be kept open by, for example, using a STUN server.
The settings for using a STUN server can be found in the base station.
(Network> NAT> STUN)

Hope this will help.
(05-25-2020 11:25 AM)complex1 Wrote: [ -> ]
(05-25-2020 03:15 AM)willywonka Wrote: [ -> ]I own the IP Phone W60P W56H W60B.Only one handset and one sip.I use it as a private phone.It receives incoming calls without a problem however, it is a hit and miss affair when I am out and want to phone the handset with my mobile phone.The mobile phone rings the home number but the Yealink phone is dead.No ring tone ,nothing at all, not even a missed call message.I can call my mobile phone with the Yealink phone without problem.It has received calls from other mobile phones and landlines without problem.I have noticed if I switch off the base and turn it back on the handset will ring when I place a call from my mobile phone.There have been times when I've tested the handset by placing a number of mobile phone calls to it, spaced a few minutes apart.The handset manages to receive 3 or 4 calls and then say, on the 5 attempt, the handset will not ring.I don't understand the intermittent nature of the phone being able to receive a call from my mobile in one moment and then, unable to do so in the next?
Any help would be be appreciated.The phone is critical because I'm a carer for my elderly mother.

Hi,

This is because the router closes its ports over time to exclude unauthorized requests.
Ports can be kept open by, for example, using a STUN server.
The settings for using a STUN server can be found in the base station.
(Network> NAT> STUN)

Hope this will help.

Hi,

Thanks, your suggestion initially seemed to have worked. I tested by making calls(7 times)throughout the day to the Yealink phone using my mobile, the 7th call was not received.Sad
I'm not technically savvy, so I may have to try another phone brand that may be easier to set up?It is disappointing that I can make and receive calls with the Yealink phone and yet, I can call it 10X and on the eleventh time, it may not receive the call.My fear is that it could do the same to other callers.
(05-26-2020 10:42 AM)willywonka Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

Thanks, your suggestion initially seemed to have worked. I tested by making calls(7 times)throughout the day to the Yealink phone using my mobile, the 7th call was not received.Sad
I'm not technically savvy, so I may have to try another phone brand that may be easier to set up?It is disappointing that I can make and receive calls with the Yealink phone and yet, I can call it 10X and on the eleventh time, it may not receive the call.My fear is that it could do the same to other callers.

Hi,

You can't blame Yealink for this, because it is a network issue you got.
Just like a car... if the engine is unreliable, the car is unreliable.
If you network is unreliable, incoming phone calls delivers unreliable to your phone.
Outgoing phone calls are always good, right?
(05-26-2020 11:39 AM)complex1 Wrote: [ -> ]
(05-26-2020 10:42 AM)willywonka Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

Thanks, your suggestion initially seemed to have worked. I tested by making calls(7 times)throughout the day to the Yealink phone using my mobile, the 7th call was not received.Sad
I'm not technically savvy, so I may have to try another phone brand that may be easier to set up?It is disappointing that I can make and receive calls with the Yealink phone and yet, I can call it 10X and on the eleventh time, it may not receive the call.My fear is that it could do the same to other callers.

Hi,

You can't blame Yealink for this, because it is a network issue you got.
Just like a car... if the engine is unreliable, the car is unreliable.
If you network is unreliable, incoming phone calls delivers unreliable to your phone.
Outgoing phone calls are always good, right?

Yep, I can always make outgoing calls.I'll try and sort it with my provider.
Reference URL's