Yealink Forums

Full Version: Need Update MAC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I have the following message displayed on T21P: Need Update MAC.

What does it mean? Is it normal mode or error. How to fix?

Thanks,

Alex Dodgy
(12-06-2017 07:16 AM)Alex Carrausse Wrote: [ -> ]Hello,

I have the following message displayed on T21P: Need Update MAC.

What does it mean? Is it normal mode or error. How to fix?

Thanks,

Alex Dodgy
Hi Alex,

Please kindly press OK key to reset the phone to factory.

If the issue still exist, please kindly contact your phone provider with SN number for help, if you can't contact with them, please provide SN number, I will let our Sales to help you.

Any question, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Best Regards
Aishion
Thank you I have already done the factory reset and the issue persists...

Our voice service provider MyRepublic said must buy new phone :-(

How can this happen??

The sticker says:
SN : 4103814012404356
MAC : 001565617A35

The web interface says:
Version

Firmware Version 34.72.0.75
Hardware Version 34.1.0.0.0.0.0
Network

Internet Port IPv4
IPv4
WAN Port Type DHCP
WAN IP Address 192.168.19.140
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.19.254
Primary DNS 192.168.19.254
Secondary DNS
Network Common
MAC Address 001565000000
Link Status Connected
Device Type Bridge
(12-08-2017 04:12 AM)Alex Carrausse Wrote: [ -> ]Thank you I have already done the factory reset and the issue persists...

Our voice service provider MyRepublic said must buy new phone :-(

How can this happen??

The sticker says:
SN : 4103814012404356
MAC : 001565617A35

The web interface says:
Version

Firmware Version 34.72.0.75
Hardware Version 34.1.0.0.0.0.0
Network

Internet Port IPv4
IPv4
WAN Port Type DHCP
WAN IP Address 192.168.19.140
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.19.254
Primary DNS 192.168.19.254
Secondary DNS
Network Common
MAC Address 001565000000
Link Status Connected
Device Type Bridge
Hi Alex,

Do you mean your phone provider confirmed that your phone is out of warranty so that they can't replace a new phone for you?

If so, sorry to it's a rule by this.

If not, may I know your location please? I will ask our Sales to follow up and check about the warranty.

Any question, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Best Regards
Aishion
Our phone was purchased in 2015 so yes it is definitely out of Warranty.

But it was working fine 3 weeks ago. And then something happened (I have no idead what happened) and now the phone provider said its dead and we have to buy a new one...

I just don't understand how a phone can become dead like that overnight and how come the MAC address can be wiped from the phone...

It is not right and it should not happen. This is weird...
(12-08-2017 08:20 AM)Alex Carrausse Wrote: [ -> ]Our phone was purchased in 2015 so yes it is definitely out of Warranty.

But it was working fine 3 weeks ago. And then something happened (I have no idead what happened) and now the phone provider said its dead and we have to buy a new one...

I just don't understand how a phone can become dead like that overnight and how come the MAC address can be wiped from the phone...

It is not right and it should not happen. This is weird...

Hi Alex,

It's some kind of hardware issue that made the phone's MAC turn back to 001565000000, we can only fix this issue when return to us.

But since it is out of warranty, my advice is to change a new phone.

Hope you understand.

If any question, please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards
Aishion
OK, noted but this is disappointing. Especially since it is not our fault and likely the fault of the provider.

What "kind of hardware issue" can cause a electronic device to lose its MAC address? This is beyond my understanding? Why we are not able to reset this phone to factory default and use it again?

(12-08-2017 08:29 AM)Aishion_Yealink Wrote: [ -> ]
(12-08-2017 08:20 AM)Alex Carrausse Wrote: [ -> ]Our phone was purchased in 2015 so yes it is definitely out of Warranty.

But it was working fine 3 weeks ago. And then something happened (I have no idead what happened) and now the phone provider said its dead and we have to buy a new one...

I just don't understand how a phone can become dead like that overnight and how come the MAC address can be wiped from the phone...

It is not right and it should not happen. This is weird...

Hi Alex,

It's some kind of hardware issue that made the phone's MAC turn back to 001565000000, we can only fix this issue when return to us.

But since it is out of warranty, my advice is to change a new phone.

Hope you understand.

If any question, please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards
Aishion
(12-08-2017 10:45 AM)Alex Carrausse Wrote: [ -> ]What "kind of hardware issue" can cause a electronic device to lose its MAC address? This is beyond my understanding? Why we are not able to reset this phone to factory default and use it again?

Let's see, power spike/surge, power surge on network cable caused by faulty switch or outside interferrance to cabling, poorly manufacturered eeprom that failed after being powered for too long, etc

I would argue that the provider can't really be held at fault here either, as there is no way from a configuration or adminstration perspective to manually whipe that MAC address, the only way to do so would be physical access to the phone or hardware that's failed (as per my examples just now).

Yes, it sucks, but at the end of the day the fundamental issue is something happened to cause that MAC to be unreadable, and my bet would be even if you could somehow restore it there would be other parts of the firmware/device that are corrupt and no longer functional. In our experience Yealink phones rarely fail even after many years of use, but once you start seeing errors or messages that NOBODY else has ever run into, it's generally time to write it off and get a new phone. If it was a T48 I'd say try and see if even out of warranty it can be repaired, but it's a T21, it'd probably cost you more to ship it somewhere and have a competent tech open the box then it would to simply replace it with a new one.

From a principle perspective yes that's sad, but this is the world of modern electronics.
Reference URL's